DEV Community

Cover image for I launch Devmates Challenges, what do you think?
Alex Wawl ๐Ÿผ
Alex Wawl ๐Ÿผ

Posted on

I launch Devmates Challenges, what do you think?

Hello๐Ÿ‘‹,
My name is Alex and I'm maker of Devmates.co. ๐Ÿ˜Š

We are resolving daily coding problems which asked by top tech companies together. We share our solutions, give some help if anyone stuck, support each other and just hang out together on the internet. ๐Ÿปโ˜•๏ธ๐Ÿ’ฌ

I decided to start working on Challenges because I believe that the best way to learn is learning by doing. So I want to make some challenges on a weekly basis and work on something interesting together. You can collaborate with someone or do everything by yourself.

Challenges

Challenges - micro-projects where you can learn new technologies, frameworks, languages, API, algorithms, approaches, etc. I hope it gives a chance for juniors developers to practice coding on some real projects. Senior engineers can learn something new by doing.
For example, they can try to resolve it using a new language or framework. Challenges donโ€™t have any language/framework/technology restrictions so you can resolve any problem using any tools.

My motivation is to build a community around it and allow people to learn something new by making small projects. If someone stuck they can ask questions to people who are also working on the same โ€œtasksโ€ and get feedback.

Right now you can see the first challenge named "Conway's Game of Life". It's a kind of classic coding problem that can be implemented in different ways and can be asked in real interviews. It's not just plain "algorithmic" problem, you should visualize it or adding some additional "behavior". It's a kind of "test" version of challenges but in the future, I want to provide more interesting ideas.

So if you are working on some APIs, frameworks, etc let me know. Maybe we can collaborate and I can provide interesting challenges based on your Project. I think it's a great idea and would love to hear your feedback.

I'm working on it in my free time so I would love to hear any ideas about Challenges or about platform at all. It can give me a chance make the platform more useful.
Thanks for reading!

Links:
Main page
Challenges

Top comments (0)