DEV Community

Cover image for BUILDING A FANCY CALCULATOR WITH JAVASCRIPT
Allison O
Allison O

Posted on

BUILDING A FANCY CALCULATOR WITH JAVASCRIPT

Thank you for visiting,

I hope you had a good weekend, mine wasn't. I intended to reach out to 50 companies with cold emails about how I would make a great web developer intern or full-time employee because I know I am ready to take my programming skills to the next level .... Haven't started yet but should be finished by the end of the week. Before I go back to my cold email template, let me share a few things I did with JavaScript this week.
Javascript is easy for most people, but for me, I'm taking it one step at a time. earlier this year, i created a funny calculator, see below. Initially, I was excited, but when I realized there were other ways to do it, the functionality was far better than what I had done in the beginning

Image description

With this code above i can only change the numbers in my VScode lol , no random numbers but the symbols(+,-,/,*) worked which i was excited for. See the result below

Image description

basic-calculator-mzallison.vercel.app

Funny yeah , However after watching so many youtube videos like you , i stumbled on the below calculator and decided to replicate it because it looked way better than what i had done in the past and i created the below and i felt fulfilled and asked for an extra caoffee at the cafe i was practicing this.

The difference between the first and second was CONDITIONAL STATEMENTS
In JavaScript we have the following conditional statements:

Use if to specify a block of code to be executed, if a specified condition is true
Use else to specify a block of code to be executed, if the same condition is false
Use else if to specify a new condition to test, if the first condition is false.

Image description

Viola !! the result below. Practice make perfect

Image description

Lastly, you can switch from light to dark mode. I prefer Dark mode for all my Apps .
fancy-calculator.vercel.app
fancy-calculator-git-main-mzallison.vercel.app

Thank you very much for your attention!!!

Top comments (10)

Collapse
 
coditdoc profile image
Codeitdoc7

The funny thing about coding a calculator with user input especially with buttons and everything, you think it will be a piece of cake, until you start coding and the reality hits and you realise you know nothing 😸.
Anyways moving back to your calculator
I loved the UI, you did great a great job 😍.

Collapse
 
allison_m_08b9005267b3bcf profile image
Allison O

i agree with you 100%, i almost cried at some point.😫

Collapse
 
mikeyolang profile image
Michael Otieno Olang

Your choice of colours is really great, making the UI look fantastic, I also love the simplicity of the code

Collapse
 
yuridevat profile image
Julia πŸ‘©πŸ»β€πŸ’» GDE

Great that you were able to improve your code πŸ™Œ. Both the dark and light modes look stunning. But remember the color contrast, accessibility is a big issue that should be considered even for small projects.

Collapse
 
allison_m_08b9005267b3bcf profile image
Allison O

i'll look out for it on my next project. Thank you

Collapse
 
khokon profile image
Khokon M.

The UI looks great. But I would prefer some shadows for the buttons.

Collapse
 
allison_m_08b9005267b3bcf profile image
Allison O

To be honest , i added shadows it just didnt reflect so i moved on πŸ˜‚

Collapse
 
khokon profile image
Khokon M.

Got it πŸ˜…

Collapse
 
yongchanghe profile image
Yongchang He

Fancy color!

Collapse
 
allison_m_08b9005267b3bcf profile image
Allison O

Thank you !!!