DEV Community

Allison Seboldt
Allison Seboldt

Posted on

How do you like to learn?

Wondering if I should incorporate some new tactics into my mentoring. And if so, what those would be.

I recently created GetADevJob.com to help answer common questions I get when mentoring people in the midst of a career switch. Things like "Can I teach myself to code and get a job?", "What do I need to do to get hired without a degree?" and most of all, "How did you/others do it?”. When I first started applying to jobs I was a total mess. Tip lists and checklists were good, but I got the most value out of someone sharing their personal experience. It helped me see the big picture and gave purpose to my actions. This is what I created GetADevJob.com around, but I realize not everyone is like me.

I'm wondering if I should use some new tactics in my mentoring and the new site. So, when you learn something new, do you prefer having a guide that tells you to do X-Y-Z or do you prefer more of an observational approach? Perhaps watching someone do it first and then giving it a shot yourself?

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
presto412 profile image
Priyansh Jain

I've used both, sometimes I see my mentor and observe what they do, and otherwise, I ask for some code to tinker with and understand. The latter has helped me get hands-on with multiple libraries, where the conventional reading the tutorial would have taken a lot more time. But for me, a larger part is in actually working on a dummy project.

Collapse
 
roger01 profile image
roger-01 • Edited

Hi Alli,

I'll start off by discussing about the Human Nature.
Human beings in general are more prone to learning something in a way that they find compatible according to their mode of life.
But if a learning method is designed revolving around a practical approach of the subject into the lives of the learner then the result will be phenomenal.

If I have to teach C++ to a 12 year old kid, I'll begin by exposing the benefits of learning it and how it will affect their lives, in this case they can write code to solve homework problems or unleash their creativity onto a computer, etc.

What I mean to say is the Combo of a theoretical and a Practical approach can be effective.

I personally like to read books and dig knowledge out of the world be it reading an article or talking to an experienced person.

Possibilities are endless.

Hope I helped!