DEV Community

Jennifer Alvarado
Jennifer Alvarado

Posted on

My first month of coding!

Hi! I'm Jennifer Alvarado, a newbie to coding!

I'm 21 years old and work at Amazon. While working at Amazon, I also attended school online. Doing schoolwork and working full time, overnight, was really rough, especially during peak, but somehow I managed to do it.

Every time I would get asked what I wanted to do, I would not know how to answer because I had no clue. I had no desires to move up at Amazon and soon enough life felt stagnant.
Squidward's stagnant life
Once I finished my fall semester, I decided to look through the different programs that Amazon offered and I came across "Flatiron School Web Development (Dual Track)," as I read the description and looked through the website, I started to get drawn in. I was excited and motivated to learn something new but extremely nervous because I didn't know anything about coding.

In the beginning, I had a hard time learning all the new terms and making sure I was fork and cloning the labs and submitting them correctly. So far I can comfortably explain the difference between HTML and CSS. Honestly, everything that I have been learning has been mind blowing, once I understand it, of course and it has been so exciting and rewarding learning new things. I want this blog to showcase what I have learned and to share my struggles, so besides it being an educational post, it will also be my monthly struggle post. In the best way possible, obviously.
Spongebob dancing

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
erinposting profile image
Erin Bensinger

Welcome, Jennifer! Looking forward to reading more about your journey 😁