DEV Community

Cover image for VGauge - Created My First NPM Package (First Post)
amroessam
amroessam

Posted on

VGauge - Created My First NPM Package (First Post)

Hello Everyone,

My 2019 resolution was to get more involved with the open source community, and contribute as much as I can.

I had to create a dashboard for work, and they needed to see gauges, the simplest library I found was GaugeJS

The problem was it was too scattered around to use in my project, so I created a wrapper for it.

I went through the process of creating the package and publishing it.

The process was fairly simple following the NPM docs.

It's such a satisfying feeling to do

npm i vgauge

and it actually works.

Here's the github page, a live demo, and the sandbox if you want to tinker

Please don't hesitate to tell me what you think.

Thank you for reading :)

Top comments (3)

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

Congrats! That's one more npm package than I've ever created.

Collapse
 
amroessam profile image
amroessam

Thank you, it’s easier than I thought it would be. You should definitely give it a try 😊

Collapse
 
debuglady profile image
Maheen

Congrats! Love it!