DEV Community

Cover image for I built a site for Pride month!
anabella
anabella

Posted on

I built a site for Pride month!

Cover Photo by Stavrialena Gontzou on Unsplash

Hey lovely DEV community!

I'm writing this short post to show you a small website that I built using just HTML and CSS 😁 Yay! Old times!

I always wanted to work on a project for Pride month but I could never think of something in time. Until this month I started seeing a lot of pride-themed brands using "the wrong colors" *gasp* 😱

So I did some research on the subject. And by "research" I mean that I read the Wikipedia article on Rainbow Flags and realised it's not really that easy.

Usually people think the LGBTQ+ Pride flag needs to have 7 colors: "the colors of the rainbow", but that's not really the case. When this happens they end up using the Cooperativism Movement flag, instead of the widely accepted (but not exclusively recognised) Pride flag.

What I found is that there's no final truth about what's the correct one, but after struggling a lot with myself thinking if it made sense to make this website or not I finally decided that it's just for fun and set out for it. And, a couple of days later, it's ready.

🥁 drumroll 🥁

Here it is: Pride or Coop?

I hope you like it and can use it as a reference when in doubt!

Top comments (12)

Collapse
 
memitaru profile image
Ami Scott (they/them)

I keep seeing a lot of rainbow flags being sold in party stores and stuff too that people think are the pride flag but they are just unrelated rainbow flags. I even own one myself because I couldn't afford a rainbow flag until recently

Collapse
 
sherribooher profile image
Sherri Booher • Edited

As an LGBTQ+ person, I thank you for making such an informative site! Keep building!

Collapse
 
anabella profile image
anabella

Thank you!

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

Neat 👌

Collapse
 
anabella profile image
anabella

Thanks Ben! 😊

Collapse
 
hkly profile image
hkly

For more info on the evolving pride flag them.us/story/pride-flag-redesign

Collapse
 
quinncuatro profile image
Henry Quinn

Hell yeah! Keep building cool stuff.

Collapse
 
anabella profile image
anabella

Yayyyy!

Collapse
 
jayjlawrence profile image
jayjlawrence • Edited

❤️ from 🇨🇦

Your online tribute to pride reveals the beauty of your heart

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

🏳️‍🌈- the correct one!

...at least I really hope so, the lines on that icon are way tiny 🤞

Collapse
 
ghost profile image
Ghost

Impressive work! Happy Pride Month!

Collapse
 
anabella profile image
anabella

Thank you! Happy pride Month to you too!