DEV Community

Tom Anderson
Tom Anderson

Posted on

Is Deno worth getting excited about just yet?

I don't understand all the current hype around Deno. From what I understand, it's being driven by the creator of NodeJS but with everything that should've been done the first time around. Things like supporting TypeScript out of the box, and operating in a secure runtime where permissions must be explicitly invoked are nice, but I don't see them as a reason to jump across, especially when the lack of package support is considered.

Don't get me wrong, I think it's a great thing that it's being developed and I'd jump at an opportunity to use it, but I don't see how it would differentiate in usability to NodeJS.

Why should I be getting excited?

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
souksyp profile image
Souk Syp.

I don't understand either. It's just crazy.