DEV Community

Cover image for How to reach a wide audience on social media
André Casal
André Casal

Posted on

How to reach a wide audience on social media

If you're new here, I'm André, a tech entrepreneur and founder of LaunchFast, a stack designed to help web developers significantly speed up their project development time. I post daily updates on my journey and progress.

Almost every day I share my journey in public. I do this on 24 different platforms. Here's how you can do it too:

  1. Write an article in Markdown
  2. Open the 24 browser tabs at once
  3. Copy and paste the article into each tab

That's it! You're done. You've reached a wide audience on social media.

Here's my marketing tab.

saved links

And here's how you can open all the websites with one click.

how to open all links at once

Keep in mind that some of those, like the Smashing Magazine, aren't meant for daily shares but for in-depth web dev article submittions. But I like to keep them there to remind me to submit them!

I do go the extra mile and use invideo.io to create a video version of the article. It's the same process: copy and paste the article and it will spit out a video for you. I then download the video from invideo.io and upload it to Instagram, TikTok, and YouTube Shorts. Funny enough, the short videos get a lot of impressions (around 600 each).

"Sure André, but what did you do today? Where's the progress report?!"

Ah, right. To contexualize, I've decided to work on improving my landing page until I reach a 10%+ conversion rate, because being a tech entrepreneur, marketing has always been my Achiles heel. So here's the plan:

  1. Improve the landing page until I reach a 10%+ conversion rate
  2. Create a marketing strategy that I can implement in 2h/day
  3. Improve the product
  4. Growth hacking strategies

So here's what got done today:

  • Figured out what to insert on that green area of the hero for the landing page

hero for the landing page of LaunchFast.pro

As you know, the above the fold section of a landing page is extremely important. And the image much more so, because we process images considerably faster than text. So that visual (whether it is an image, video or an animation), needs to trigger immediate engagement and an emotional response, while reinforcing the product’s core value proposition. It's a bit of a tall order. But it's well worth the effort.

So today I've spent the entire day coming up with ideas and rating them based on that criteria and I settled on a "Commit & Push" simulation, so that web developers can feel how it is to push code to production with LaunchFast: ESLint, TypeScript, Vitest, and Playwright run and the code is deployed to production.

The difference between this visual being crappy or impactful depends on the execution and attention to details of the animation. So that's what I'm going to be doing tomorrow.

And that's it for today folks! I hope you enjoyed this one, cheers and have a great rest of your week! 👋

Top comments (0)