DEV Community

Andy Haskell
Andy Haskell

Posted on

What are your favorite tricks, techniques, and apps for starting to learn an area of tech you’re completely new to?

Top comments (3)

Collapse
 
princealarming profile image
Prince-Alarming

I'm like am octopus with a sponge for a brain. When I started to learn coding basics(HTML, CSS, JS)I did it in a unique way. I heard about HTML editors first by my internet provider(gnn), they offered free web space for a website and I wanted to give it a try. I opened the HTML editor and eventually discovered you could manually edit the code. When I saw the code I was like no way(mind you this was back in the 90's). Thus began my journey.

I use NOTEPAD++ or ATOM to write code. As far as learning, hmmm, there are several ways to go, free learn coding sites, apps for Android/iPhone, even chatrooms for coding, etc. I'm learning coding on freecodecamp.org . For me I learn by doing, that works best for me.

A couple apps new to me are, snippets.me and node.js . I also am interested in MongoDB and React. A few websites that may interest you are, github.com, codepen.io, repl.it, carbonmade.com and krop.com

Happy Coding,
Prince Alarming

Collapse
 
katnel20 profile image
Katie Nelson

Lots of Googling which at times can be overwhelming when you get back thousands of results.

Collapse
 
thefern profile image
Fernando B 🚀

If is something I plan on using, youtube, maybe download a book, then try small examples of what I want to use it for. There's no trick really just like learning anything else.