DEV Community

anny21
anny21

Posted on • Updated on

My Journey to finally choosing software as a career

Hi guys, its your favorite girl... "*** tho in my mind***"

OK OK back to the topic... Hmmm my journey was so blessed, back to how it all started,

In 2016 after my diploma program I just found out I had this love for tech tho I never knew what it was going to take me to get there, my smart phone was stolen, my personal system was bad, I only had a phone that could google without seeing pictures, well thank God it could, so I started learning HTML and CSS without practicing, yeah without practicing cos there wasn't too good power supply in my vicinity.

I had a friend who believed in me then but he was like I haven't seen your seriousness to learn this stuff, OK I decided to go out to look for other means so I started my search for an IT placement since I just completed my diploma. I did, went for interview but wasn't called, I went back there and they were like, there was no more space... That was one of the biggest disappointment but all good I went back home and taught about everything, I told my friend and i said i wasnt going back. Few weeks later, my friend said go and start as a volunteer, he said its better to go out every day without being paid than to sit at home all day. I started as a volunteer just cos i really wanted to be a software developer they accepted and I was posted as a receptionist yeah you heard that a receptionist. As a receptionist having access to the internet and a system I started practicing my HTML CSS tho it wasn't easy... Then I didn't even know the difference between frontend and back end but I knew I loved JavaScript...

The story didn't end there.. To cut the long story short, there were times I gave up my dream cos there was no one to put me through some concept, no mentor, I could remember there was a time I decided to be a chef instead, I enrolled but deep down this wasn't what I wanted to do.. I still went back to programming.

To crown it all please never give up, I really don't know what you might be going through. I might not be where I am but I definitely cannot give up any longer... Believe in yourself and know it takes time to be good...
Cheers

Top comments (3)

Collapse
 
manimanis profile image
Mohamed Anis MANI

Just wanted to say: "Good luck, and never give-up"

Collapse
 
seamanb2k profile image
DigitalEmma

I see you Anny, keep the fire burning, you've got this

Collapse
 
imohweb profile image
Imoh Etuk

Great story. Just keep pushing. Neva give up!