DEV Community

Anshuman Bhardwaj
Anshuman Bhardwaj

Posted on

Which one is a better TLD for portfolio & blog?

I'm planning to register a domain name for my personal website. I am also planning to use the same for my blog and newsletter email.

Which one of these TLD should I go for?

  • .tech
  • .dev
  • .one
  • .me

I want to get it in my own name

Suggestions will be highly appreciated.

Top comments (12)

Collapse
 
jboxman profile image
Jason Boxman

I just had this question, and I came across this: growthbadger.com/top-level-domains/

But the audience for developer portfolios is probably more tech savvy and TLDs other than .com are probably okay, perhaps even helpful.

Collapse
 
thomasbnt profile image
Thomas Bnt ☕

.dev is pretty cool!

Collapse
 
anshuman_bhardwaj profile image
Anshuman Bhardwaj

Thanks I got theanshuman.dev

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

Yeah, I think .dev has the best ring to it.

Just to speak to my gut feeling on the bunch: The word "tech" is often used very broadly and is sort of an amorphous term. A tech blog could be an Apple product review site.

.one is interesting but seems a little... Off-putting.

.me is the second best IMO — clever TLD for personal sites.

But yeah, if this is going to be a software blog, .dev is the way to go. 👍

Thread Thread
 
thomasbnt profile image
Thomas Bnt ☕

yep that's good in the optics for a technology blog. Like for example (totally random) this site, which displays posts around dev.

Thread Thread
 
anshuman_bhardwaj profile image
Anshuman Bhardwaj

thanks @ben, so glad to see your response. I finally got theanshuman.dev and hosted my tech blog at blog.theanshuman.dev

Collapse
 
mainrs profile image
mainrs

Everything works out I guess. I got a .net address. .one has a lot of potential for words. like some.one or similar.

If it’s personal only I’d go for me. If you want to also use it as a portfolio, maybe .dev is better.

Collapse
 
anshuman_bhardwaj profile image
Anshuman Bhardwaj

thanks @mainrs, I got theanshuman.dev

Collapse
 
thumbone profile image
Bernd Wechner

I'm a .info kinda guy ;-)

Collapse
 
anshuman_bhardwaj profile image
Anshuman Bhardwaj

thanks @thumbone, yeah the .info sounds good. For now I got theanshuman.dev

Collapse
 
noahflk profile image
Noah Falk

Either .dev or .me, depending on availability and price!

Collapse
 
anshuman_bhardwaj profile image
Anshuman Bhardwaj

thanks @noahflk, I got theanshuman.dev