DEV Community

Areahints
Areahints

Posted on

What open source tool/software/script enhances your daily work?

I'm interested in knowing which tools makes your daily job or task far easier, particularly if you discovered this tool yourself or even created it.

Top comments (5)

Collapse
 
pavelloz profile image
Paweł Kowalski • Edited

npm package called watch (if tool that im using doesnt have watch mode or im just writing some file and want to run it on every save)
htop - pretty top :)
duck.com and its ! syntax - learning that saved so much time... ie. !yt designing with tailwind takes me directly to search results with that phrase on YT.
insomnia - app similar to postman, but free and so much better (IMO)
pj plugin for zsh (or oh-my-zsh) - basically an alias to cd ~/projects/project_name

Collapse
 
rhymes profile image
rhymes

I'm pretty minimal about scripts, I have a few aliases for the command line and a few for git, use exa instead of ls and ripgrep instead of the classic grep.

I recently went back to Sublime Text 3 from Visual Studio Code because it's faster and consumes less resources and although I love VS Code, I noticed how I have all the plugins I really need over there (mostly highlighting and an inline linter).

That's mostly it.

Collapse
 
areahints profile image
Areahints

didn't know about exa till today! will definitely check it out.

I use vscode on my machine as well. I can testify to its resource consumption, I thought at first it was due to the number of extensions I have running. most times its a quick edit and nano does it for me, sadly not sure I'll ever get the hang of vi/vim

Collapse
 
deciduously profile image
Ben Lovy

This is might not be in the spirit of what you're looking for, but I am so reliant on bash it's not even funny. I don't know what I'd do without bash or my pile of homegrown sysadmin scripts.

Collapse
 
areahints profile image
Areahints

Exactly what I'm looking for Ben!
I'm a bash fan myself, I love how its always available on any Unix distro and has a mature code base, I literally got better at programming just because I wanted to know how to accomplish tasks on the terminal!