DEV Community

Cover image for Working from home - yay or nay?
Arika O
Arika O

Posted on • Updated on

Working from home - yay or nay?

How was your home office experience until now? In Germany we've been doing it for almost two months - maybe more, maybe less, who knows, what day or year is it anyway?!

On the downside, besides missing the social interaction, I forget to take breaks and I end up working more than I would work in the office. Consequently, I don't eat or exercise enough. On the bright side, I get to spend more time with my doggo and I can take naps.

How are your days going and what do you like or dislike about this whole situation?

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
thatonejakeb profile image
Jacob Baker

Have to say having worked from home for the past 5 years this is very different from how I'd work from home normally. Usually, for example, you can work from a coffee shop or co-working space every so often for a change of pace.

Having to force myself to take breaks was something that took me a while as well. I couldn't figure out why I felt drained after working from home compared to the office. Turns out those little breaks and interactions you'll get from being in an office with other people meant realistically I was working less, so I try to take 5 minutes every so often to clear the mind and do something else.

Dog is loving having both me and my girlfriend home though!

Collapse
 
arikaturika profile image
Arika O

I couldn't quite put my finger on what's different but you are right. I also used to work from home before but at least I had the freedom to leave the house if I wanted to. Thx for your input :).