DEV Community

Cover image for 5 tools to improve your productivity as a developer (that are not AI dependent - yes, some still exist) 🤖
Arthur Coudouy
Arthur Coudouy

Posted on

5 tools to improve your productivity as a developer (that are not AI dependent - yes, some still exist) 🤖

I've listed a few tools that I use personally or heard good things from users. Hopefully, they might help some of you!

I prefer to say that I'm the founder of n°4, but even if it was not my baby, I'd love it as much (honestly).

1. Timely

Timely screenshot

Automates time tracking. It helps you & your time focus on what's important - it's super helpful if you're a freelancer.

We don't use it within my team, but I've heard a lot of good things!

2. Tuple

Tuple screenshot

Enables pair programming in a remote workplace. It includes a thoughtful screen-sharing interface and low-latency remote machine control.

Who said that distance was an issue? Pair programming is nice, I don't use it every day but I know teams that can live without it.

3. Raycast

Raycast screenshot

It is a blazingly fast, totally extendable launcher. It lets you complete tasks, calculate, share common links, and much more. When they say "supercharge productivity", they mean it.

It's one of the few apps that makes me think a Mac would be useful.

Yes, I'm on PC (and everything works fine don't worry).

4. Axolo

Axolo screenshot

It is the most complete GitHub (GitLab) and Slack integration for pull requests. We've been working on it for the past three years, and help developers review thousands of pull requests every day.

(I can't imagine a PR without Axolo today)

5. f.lux

f.lux is a color display application that varies based on your needs and the time of day.

As developers, we spend a significant amount of time in front of screens. The brightness of a screen can interfere with how our bodies normally work, particularly when it comes to sleep, so if you don't already have such a tool, give it a try!

Also, they have a fun project where you can adapt your environment light while f.lux updates your screen.

What other tools should I add?

I'll write a blog post with all the links I receive, so please share some with me!

Top comments (0)