DEV Community

Artur Martsinkovskyi
Artur Martsinkovskyi

Posted on • Updated on

I failed last onsite step of Facebook interview at Dublin, Ask Me Anything!

Top comments (19)

Collapse
 
shubhamkhandare profile image
Shubham Khandare

What went wrong?

Collapse
 
arturmartsinkovskyi profile image
Artur Martsinkovskyi • Edited

Everything, basically. They did not report the reason, so I am left to question my existence and worth :)
Actually, I am a Ruby SE and their HR thought it would be a good idea to interview me for DevOps position. I have some skills in OS, infrastructure and glueing stuff together, but not on the level I'd deep acceptable for such a company. Anyway, this was the suggestion from their side and I was amused with the opportunity, so I crossed my fingers and accepted it.

It was going well online. The problems started when I got onsite. I travelled to Dublin via two transfer flights that basically took the whole day. I was first time abroad, tired, nervous and a bit homesick for some reason. There were four interviews and on the third one my mind suddenly snapped, so I was almost unable to think, resolving the problems they set before me in quite a sloppy and slow fashion.

I don't think this would go any other way for me then, but it was a great expirience overall. Nice city, their office was amazing and I've got the adventure. Now I know what may go wrong and why I failed, so I am preparing for another try sowhere in FAANG space.

Collapse
 
shubhamkhandare profile image
Shubham Khandare • Edited

Thanks for sharing. But I am still trying to figure why would Ruby SE switch to DevOps ?! What was your thought process ?
And yes they should provide you the reason ! Anyways . All the best for future !

Collapse
 
pabuisson profile image
Pierre-Adrien Buisson

Thanks for sharing! It's a shame that they don't report the reason though, it would make sense and would be valuable for the candidate.

Collapse
 
razibchamp profile image
Razib Hossain Shuvo

Is it important to have deep knowledge on a specific technology to get interview call and get selected in a big company ?
for me, i have worked with python (django), php (laravel), JavaScript(jquery,angular,react, react-native).

Collapse
 
arturmartsinkovskyi profile image
Artur Martsinkovskyi

It may increase the chances of getting in. Your CV gotta be impressive, 'cause there are like a 1000 people like you applying for the position.

Collapse
 
fritola profile image
Gustavo Fritola

how do you recommend to start with rubby?

Collapse
 
arturmartsinkovskyi profile image
Artur Martsinkovskyi

It depends on your purposes. If it just learning than just rubymonk.com would fit. Else you can choose game programming with github.com/gosu/gosu or web programming with github.com/rails/rails. Both have great offical guides. Here they are for Rails and Gosu.

Collapse
 
fritola profile image
Gustavo Fritola

Usually work with codeigniter so I think Rails would be a nice start. am I right?

Thread Thread
 
arturmartsinkovskyi profile image
Artur Martsinkovskyi

Yes.

Collapse
 
circleofawesome profile image
Samiul Anwar

What kinda questions did they ask? Did they ask you to solve algorithm challenges in Ruby?

Collapse
 
arturmartsinkovskyi profile image
Artur Martsinkovskyi

The don't care about the language unless it is something cryptic. Mostly questions about certain counting, array traversal or string operation issues. Also ground-up Linux questions like processes, memory, threads, sycalls. Analyze purpose of server by its logs. Typical.

Collapse
 
circleofawesome profile image
Samiul Anwar

Thanks for the answer, was helpful :)

Collapse
 
rahulchowdhury profile image
Rahul Chowdhury πŸ•Ά

What do you love most about Ruby?

Collapse
 
arturmartsinkovskyi profile image
Artur Martsinkovskyi

It is basically pseudocode that runs. It is much easier to prototype stuff like algorithms, approaches and parts of the system on Ruby then, say, on Java. Also, community is great and social, so I can always find somebodys blog, conf talk or a chat.

Collapse
 
karataev profile image
Eugene Karataev • Edited

How long have you been programming in Ruby before interviewing at Facebook?

Collapse
 
arturmartsinkovskyi profile image
Artur Martsinkovskyi

About 2 years. I was finishing by Bachelors degree and that helped.

Collapse
 
patzistar profile image
Patrick Schadler

How did they reached out to you?

Collapse
 
arturmartsinkovskyi profile image
Artur Martsinkovskyi

I left my CV on the offical site and they sent me an email.