DEV Community

ashleygraf_
ashleygraf_

Posted on • Updated on

Applying security principles to avoid getting pickpocketed

I've been travelling for just about 6 months in Europe, including some of the world's major pickpocket hotspots, and I have some thoughts. Of course, I couldn't help but take a security mindset with me. So what does it look like applying information security principles to physical objects?

I have been lucky as well, but I am sure these steps also played a part in avoiding getting pick-pocketed. I'll also share some techniques I didn't use.

If you're interested in anti-theft, there are companies that have already done the work for you, and you could sort through the best of those. If you're not interested in looking like a hiker or a business traveller (sometimes they blend in better with the locals, sometimes they don't, depending on where you are), there's a bit more research to do.

So what gives a "fashionable" bag anti-theft properties?

The aim of the game here is to make yourself as difficult to target as possible. You are using the Swiss cheese model.

  • When you are wearing it, are there any exposed zips? In a backpack, Zips should be hidden between the straps or on the side closest to your body. here are some examples: https://www.tuscanyleather.it/it/zaini-in-pelle/shanghai-zaino-in-pelle-morbida-cognac-tl140963. https://www.tuscanyleather.it/it/borse-a-mano-in-pelle/tl-bag-pochette-in-pelle-verde-tl141990?
  • If the zips are exposed, how close does someone have to get to you to be able to unzip the bag?
  • Can a stranger open your bag while you are wearing it?
  • If they can, how long does it take them to work out how to?
  • Can you lock the zips?
  • How easy it is to lock the zips?
  • Does the opening use a two-way zipper?
  • Can you put a lock through both zips? Two-way zippers are a feature more common on backpacks and suitcases than handbags. If you can lock these exposed zips, how far the bag can be easily opened is far reduced.
  • Are all openings sealed and water-tight when the bag is fully closed?
  • How visible are the zips? The less visible or hidden, the better.
  • Don't forget that you must also keep the bag physically close to you at all times when outside your accommodation. So your bag should be comfortable to wear in front of your body, where you can always put a hand in front of it when you are out-and-about.

I am always mentioning bags here because at no point should you leave anything in your pockets, especially if they don't have zips. Wallets stay in your zipped up bag when you are not using them.

Preferable, you usually wouldn't even take your cards around with you. Just leave it at your accomodation. When you can't pay with your phone, you pay with cash. You shouldn't need to take out your card except at the ATM or the money exchange to withdraw cash.

In airports, major train stations, tourist hot-spots, restaurants, I would always wear my phone on a leash and my bags on my lap with an arm through my smaller daily backpack, or a leg through my larger backpacking backpack (get bags with adjustable length straps).

I also tested how easy it would be to un-clasp the phone leash. How long would it take to wear out and just fall?

If I was considering a replacement I would always compare how easy it was to unclasp the new leash versus my current one, and if it was easier, I would always pass on it. So in crowds, the leash is made shorter (get a phone leash with adjustable length leash) to make it more of a hassle to cut. I then place my phone under my shirt with the strap still shortened when I am not using it. You can get phone cases where the strap cannot be unclasped from both big phone repair stores in "Europe". However, the straps that come with can be easily cut. You may want to replace it with another fabric. Security alone is not enough, though. It is nicer to get the leash in a comfortable fabric that is not too heavy, and flat and wide, to remove the temptation to not use it. it should not strain your neck when wearing it.

Tote bags are an easy target. Deep ones with small straps are probably less easy to steal from as they have less surface area to dig into. I do not put anything irreplaceable in there. They are for food and to store clothing for when the weather changes.

In public places like airports and major train stations, wear your important documents under your clothing. In Berlin, you can buy utilitarian leather bags at the markets for specifically this purpose. Or you could get a jacket with internal pockets - generally suit jackets and hiking jackets will have these, and wear them zipped up with your documents inside. (And another layer of clothing on top of that jacket).

A tote bag with a prominently exposed zip is very popular in Western Europe, and they always wear it in front of their body. In this case, in close quarters, you always have your hand in front of your bag so it cannot be unzipped.

Top comments (0)