DEV Community

Avinash Ingle
Avinash Ingle

Posted on

Which linux flavour you admire or use the most ?

Simply By your choices or intuitions

Top comments (4)

Collapse
 
thomassjogren profile image
Thomas Sjögren

I use vanilla Arch on my personal computer as it doesn't matter that much if it gets messed up. On my work laptop I'm using Manjaro. Manjaro is based on Arch but with a slower release cycle and more custom testing of packages.

Collapse
 
moaxcp profile image
John Mercier

NixOS nixos.org/. It is very easy to recover from a messed up configuration. My whole OS is defined in a file which I can change redeploy and rollback if there is a problem. Configurations for your system can be tested in a vm before being applied. It has a lot of packages and supports user repositories. I was able to add adoptopenjdk14 in my own repo on the day it came out with a few lines of code.

Collapse
 
adavidoaiei profile image
Adavidoaiei Dumitru-Cornel • Edited

Elementary OS, elementary.io/ro/, this has a Mac OS user interface and I saw in multiple tops of linux distributions on first position, it is a Ubuntu based distribution you could reuse knowledge from Ubuntu in Elementary OS, I'd like the user interface and user experience, each UI element is
carefully polished and you have down a dock where you could put elements like in Mac OS.

Collapse
 
aurelmegn profile image
Aurel

I use manjaro, mainly because of the release policy and Aur (arch user repository)