DEV Community

Cover image for The death of forestry.io
Mick Jacobsson for AWS Community Builders

Posted on • Originally published at talkncloud.com

The death of forestry.io

When I migrated from Ghost Pro to hugo I stumbled across forestry.io, a CMS for my static site. It seemed to be everything I was looking for, something to bridge that small gap between writing markdown content and having a nice editor with workflows. It wasn't perfect but I stuck with it.

What has replaced forestry.io and is it any good?

Why though?

Like I said, It bridges a small gap. You don't need forestry, you can just use the IDE of choice and churn out markdown but it gets a little old. I like the finer things in life and one of those is lightweight CMS.

Something we should clear up before we go further. I'm not happy about this at all. I'm only "trying" out forestry on a small single site for personal use. Considering they've ended forestry and moved onto another project is something to consider before moving to the alternative. Sh*t happens.

I'll talk about something that I'd like when we wrap up at the end.

TinaCMS

If you've used forestry.io you would already know that it has been replaced with TinaCMS.

The Forestry.io team is focused on building TinaCMS, the next iteration of our vision. See the migration guide or test it with the following command.

Not really any clues here as to what has happened. The internet probably knows but I'm not chasing the juicy details, I want progress. That is TinaCMS for now so we'll take a look a migrating.

The good news is that TinaCMS appears to be built some sort of migration around forestry to the new "vision". So lets try that and see how it goes.

Another migration

Yes, I was less than thrilled at migrating to something else.

Good news, the docs look pretty decent. Easily to follow and they include videos for those who prefer that approach. Following the migration guides we can see it's pretty simple, go to your web root:

npx @tinacms/cli@latest init
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

Pretty much just answer Y to everything.

What you'll hopefully end up with is a new tina configuration file with package management and some shiny new additions to your gitignore. The main config.ts is where I've been finding most of the interesting bits and pieces, I had to play around with the path the most for both root and media. So check that out.

Next you'll need to start your local development server, tina has something for that too, this is what it looks like for my local hugo:

npx tinacms dev - c "hugo server -D -p 1313"
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

This will launch the web server locally and you can access the web admin site on...you guessed it http://localhost:1313.

Now, if everything went OK you should see your content. You'll see your existing pages, media etc.

Tip: Mess around with the config.ts path for content and media if you don't see your site content.

Using Tina

The user interface isn't too exciting, not that it needs to be. Creating a new page is straight forward, because Tina completed a migration I'm assuming it has collected all of my previous key fields (can be seen in config) and now they become inputs for a new page. For example, I have a field named type which I use to manage drafts and features. This helps me to work on pages over a period of time without making a mistake a making it live. The other is to push pages to the top that i want featured, this is usually my latest articles.

The user interface looks something like this:

TinaCMS Admin

Wen Cloud?

Tbh, I'm little hesitant to fully invest time into TinaCMS right now. I'm grateful that the migration was pretty smooth but generally didn't like having to migrate and spend time on this. I was using forestry cloud for a while and preferred the hosted cloud admin of forestry even with it's problems. For now, I'll continue to test out using TinaCMS with the local admin to update content and think about how I want to move forward.

I don't mind the idea how hosting the admin part of out my hosting in AWS but would need to manage secure access, which is something I wanted to avoid for this site. I like to keep this isolated where possible to some extent.

Is there another way?

What do I really want in a content editor. Over the years I've used enterprise level CMS and have hated them but they usually have a place. I've used open source ones which have been somewhere in between and usually more acceptable given the cost.

When I first started going down the path of static sites I was hooked, this is the way. Fast, affordable hosting of static content, but managing that content is a bit clunky.

I don't want a hosted CMS to manage my content. I'm a simple guy, I wonder if there is something in Visual Studio Code that can provide the editor experience I want coupled with a local development server for viewing changes...

I'd be keen to hear if you come across this already and have any suggestions???

Quick mention for further reading, this site is hosted on AWS for cheaps, like cents, I wrote an article about how I do that if you're interested: https://www.talkncloud.com/ghost-pro-migration-hugo-static-aws/

Image banner credits: Photo by Marcelo Novais on Unsplash

Top comments (0)