DEV Community

Cover image for Hi, I'm new.
Allan 'Azrall' Bott
Allan 'Azrall' Bott

Posted on

Hi, I'm new.

Seven years ago, I was let go from my last IT job. I was heartbroken. Not because I'd lost the job per se, but because I'd been let go for suffering with mental health.

No, really. I was sacked for having mental health issues.

I adored my IT career, having worked in retail from 15 years of age, I managed to sweep into 1st Line support when in 2007, when I was 22. Fast forward a couple of years, I went from service desk analyst to software deployment, getting stuck into SQL and learning very very basic C++.

Having been bitten by the bug, I wanted to go into software development, but didn't know where to look, sure there were online courses and bootcamps, but I simply just couldn't afford them. Stupid financial decisions in my youth meant I spent most of my time living hand to mouth. And IT back then just wasn't an inclusive place, hell - maybe it was and my face just didn't fit. Not getting any opportunities to develop, I job hopped, a lot. From software installation to deployment, hoping to find the "in" to kick-start my software development career.

But it wasn't to be,I thought I'd landed on my feet in 2013 with a relatively small and new company. I was learning a lot with SQL server and things seemed to be going well - until the Big Black Dog arrived.

I struggled daily with depression and changes to my mental health, I bottled it up and it was obvious. People noticed, but noticed for the wrong reasons. I was lashing out and being quite abrupt. My line manager at the time noticed, I shared what I wanted to share, but instead of support, I got berated. Told I was disruptive and "not a team player."

This continued for some time, I was trying my best, I really was - but I felt and was treated like an outcast and a burden.
My biggest regret in that company was not taking a job offer from a valued friend in the business. He headed up the technical side of the business and clearly knew something was up! He approached me in the kitchen area of the office and asked if I fancied joning his team as a Technical Consultant. I should have said yes,but for some reason, I said no. I couldn't even tell you what I said, because I can't remember. Either way, two days after that conversation I was let go.

I needed a job, and fast. Disillusioned by IT due to the way I was treated, I ended up landing a job as an Assistant Commercial Manager - someone who deals with contracts in construction. Fast forward seven years and now I'm a Chartered Surveyor suffering a mid-life career crisis.

Do I like my job? Yes! Am I passionate about it? No, not in the slightest. I'm passionate about software and development.

So here I am, a newbie developer, teaching himself Python and BASIC to light a spark inside me that hopefully produces an inferno of passion.

I want to be a developer. Help me make that dream.

  • Az.

Top comments (4)

Collapse
 
cicirello profile image
Vincent A. Cicirello

Hello and welcome to DEV. I totally understand why you are learning Python. Great choice to start with. Widely used and use-cases seem to be growing. But I'm curious why you are also learning basic? Not exactly a language you hear about very often. What's your motivation for that one?

Collapse
 
azrall profile image
Allan 'Azrall' Bott

The motivation for basic is mainly because I'm a fan of retro games from the C64 & Spectrum era. Would love to develop a game from that era in my spare time. Just for a bit of fun 😅

Collapse
 
cicirello profile image
Vincent A. Cicirello

That makes a lot of sense now and sounds like a lot of fun.

Collapse
 
devjour_app profile image
Devjour_app

Hello Allan,

I am really sorry for what you have been through. But it's never too late. Some of @devjour_app team have been through the same challenge for some reasons. However they have done the following (could be helpful to you):

Tip: Udacity are offering a very good program: Link Here

  • Joined some Hackathons that made them challenging their skills: --> You can find a list of Hackathons here
  • Also, they worked on journaling their productivity and tasks. Therefore, we got motivated to create Devjour, which is a Guided Journaling tool to enable developers, product managers, designers to journal their daily moods, productivity and notes.

Most importantly, keep believing in yourself. You will become a true strong developer. Don't let anything or anyone put you down from what you are passionate about.

We wish you the best for your new journey

Devjour