DEV Community

Bhagya
Bhagya

Posted on

How old were you when you started coding?

How old were you when you started coding?

I was 16 😅 and you 👇

Here we go💪​

Top comments (35)

Collapse
 
dumboprogrammer profile image
Tawhid

If memory serves it was around when I was 7 or 8 years old.
I had a windows 7 and a xp machine and my uncle(Lead Animator and game designer) taught me about animation later Flash Games and I picked this up there.

Collapse
 
atulcodex profile image
🚩 Atul Prajapati 🇮🇳

Wow great 👍

Collapse
 
jonrandy profile image
Jon Randy 🎖️ • Edited

7 years old - way back in 1983. Writing code in BASIC on the ZX Spectrum 48K ZX Spectrum

Collapse
 
adriens profile image
adriens • Edited

I was 8 yo, coding BASIC and LOGO on Thomson TO7 : there were even books about generative art (which was called like that) : you had to manually copy code from paper to keyboard : that was amazing !

Collapse
 
atulcodex profile image
🚩 Atul Prajapati 🇮🇳

Too fast 😜

Collapse
 
adriens profile image
adriens

Indeed, indeed... XD

Collapse
 
dvddpl profile image
Davide de Paolis

I started at 26.
Of course I had commodore 64 when I was a kid and then an old IBM and had some classes in high school where we studied a bit of pascal and lotus123. But I never got into coding. After a sabbatical I wanted to switch career and almost by chance I enrolled to a 6 months full-time course about web development for HTML and Flash Websites.
It was hard, and of course I was the oldest, as I am basically in every team I go, but I worked hard and after almost 20 years I can say it worked out pretty well and was the best choice of my life.

Never let you put off by your age or formal education.

Collapse
 
yxsh profile image
Yash

I was 10 yo when my dad (who is a software engineer) told me about html, I used to make websites whole day 😂

Collapse
 
atulcodex profile image
🚩 Atul Prajapati 🇮🇳

Cool 😎

Collapse
 
atulcodex profile image
🚩 Atul Prajapati 🇮🇳

It was 2016 when I am also 16 years old and just enrolled in a local computer classes to learn basics of computer. After completing that course my teachers suggested me to do the Web development course and I have started and now I am a senior developer 😇

Collapse
 
thec0def0x profile image
CodeFox

I think I was around 15. I was in gaming clans and somebody showed me how to properly FTP to make sites and stuff and I got hooked into making html/js sites.

Collapse
 
jzombie profile image
jzombie

I started learning BASIC on a Tandy TRS-80 connected to my TV when I was 5 or 6 years old.

Collapse
 
besworks profile image
Besworks

Same here, except I was about 7 or 8. The first fully functional program I wrote was a roulette game that was saved on an external cassette tape recorder.

Collapse
 
jzombie profile image
jzombie

The tape recorder utilized for programming storage was so interesting to me.

Collapse
 
vladi160 profile image
vladi160

23-24 (around 2006-2007), I bought my first PC with my own money and started with Return to Castle Wolfenstein, Unreal GOTY, Half-Life and the programming/development.

Collapse
 
simeg profile image
Simon Egersand 🎈

I was 21. Today, 10 years later, I work as a Senior Software Engineer at Spotify. It's never too late to learn!

Collapse
 
kithminiii profile image
Kithmini

I started coding at my age 19, After completing my Advanced Level exams. 🙃​

Collapse
 
gabrielpedroza profile image
Gabriel Pedroza

I started at like 12ish using scratch but I took it seriously about the end of my first term of freshman year of college

Collapse
 
ezeanamichael profile image
EzeanaMichael

Same as you, 16😅

Collapse
 
envoy_ profile image
Vedant Chainani

I was 12 when I enrolled in a local computer class and started learling C ,C++ and Core Java.

Collapse
 
mopano profile image
Mopano

16 😄✋