DEV Community

Reaper
Reaper

Posted on • Updated on

My Love for Faded Wallpapers

This post has a permanent address

I'm the kind of guy who changes his wallpapers a lot. Like... A LOT!

But, there's this thing that I fancy. Almost all wallpapers that I download, I modify them to have a slightly washed out or faded look, if they weren't already that way.
A few examples of what I'm talking about can be found on here (note: these are not mine, just examples).

And since it's normally the same amount of settings from GIMP for almost all images, I thought I'd write a service. Which I did somewhere around 3rd Jul 2019 , exactly a year ago and I've been using it since.

Yeah, no emotional, motivational, rock hard, development problem solving story this time.

Here's the app: Washed

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
glyphcat profile image
GlyphCat

The example images are lit. I don't know if it's for the same reason as yours, but to me, they don't compete with the icons on the screen and they look kinda peaceful.

Collapse
 
barelyhuman profile image
Reaper

I don’t have icons on the screen but yeah, they do look subtle and don’t throw bright colors on your eyes everytime to you close a full screen window.

The app creates an even more faded look based on my preference which is almost like a full screen transparent terminal with about 50-60% opacity