DEV Community

Cover image for The Developer’s Paradox!
Basith
Basith

Posted on

The Developer’s Paradox!

So let’s keep this plain. The “Paradox” is inescapable and is something all developers face in their careers at some point. And if you haven’t faced it yet, take some time to think about how you’ve grown as a developer.

Image description

Now you may be thinking, “What is the paradox?”. It’s this:

→ I feel like I’ve learned so much.

→ I feel like I don’t know enough.

These two conflicting feelings will lead you through highs and lows. You’ll have moments of thinking, “I’m a fantastic developer and I’m doing great,” but then you’ll quickly shift to, “I don’t know enough, and maybe I made the wrong career choice!”

Both feelings exist simultaneously and both will grow the longer you hone your craft. The more you learn and grow your skillset, the more you’ll become aware of tools, technologies, languages, concepts, or frameworks that are out there that you currently know nothing about or have no experience in.

It’s like saying “The more I learn, the more I realize how much I don’t know”.

This paradox is applicable to many aspects of life but particularly as a software developer with all the things going on this paradox that we’re talking about seems more applicable. The reason is that our industry evolves and changes at such a rapid pace, you learn some technology X and wake up tomorrow just to see that everything is deprecated or is out of context. Often, as soon as you’ve mastered one framework, there is another one ready to take its place, and the loop goes on and on and on.

Top comments (0)