DEV Community

Ben Halpern
Ben Halpern

Posted on • Updated on

Changelog: New search filters

We had the thought of making short "changelog" sort of posts when we push changes that affect the user experience. This is the first of those.

You can now search people and filter your search results. It doesn't have every feature imaginable yet and we don't have Google-level search quality yet, but there's a lot of value here. I personally use our internal search a lot, so I was motivated to improve it.

As you can see, the default view shows a variety of result types.

If I'm looking for some git rebase tips I might search the term and get some quick answers.

If I want to go deeper into the associated discussions, I might hop over to the podcasts tab.

Filters are not yet "in view" on mobile, but we'll soon add the sidebar functionality similar to what's now on the home page of mobile. I hope you like it. It's v0, but search is better today than it was yesterday.

Top comments (9)

Collapse
 
debone profile image
Victor Debone

Have you considered using an external tool or a special page for a Changelog?

I'm curious to understand because having this stream of changelog using a tag looks very convenient, but I lack of this functionality on my projects

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

We may create an "official" changelog, but this is sort of more of a place to give casual heads up about changes within the app.

Collapse
 
bengreenberg profile image
Ben Greenberg

Disappointed that your "ben" search query didn't show me in the top results. πŸ˜‰

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

If you catch up to me on posts/comments/followers and all the other metrics we track, the spot is all yours πŸ˜„

Collapse
 
pildit profile image
pildit

Ketch-up :)

Collapse
 
galdin profile image
Galdin Raphael

Yes mobile please. Ever since I realised dev.to is a PWA, I've been coming here on my phone multiple times a day.

Collapse
 
imthedeveloper profile image
ImTheDeveloper • Edited

Agree mobile is perfect and I love how easy the interface is to read on mobile. Things feel just the right size and the font styling makes it easy to walk while reading posts.

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

πŸ™Œ

Collapse
 
iambudi profile image
I am Budi • Edited

Hi Ben, I can't find a way on how to sort the search result by posting date?