DEV Community

Ben Halpern
Ben Halpern

Posted on

I am a remarkably productive software developer when I'm procrastinating on a non-coding task

Particularly writing tasks πŸ˜„

Top comments (17)

Collapse
 
tkdmzq profile image
TKDMzq

Few weeks ago i had to do a some house cleaning. Guess who learned how to code in rust.

Collapse
 
ama profile image
Adrian Matei • Edited

That's true. It's hard though when the non-coding task involves kids. Solution: do pair-programming :)

kid pair programming

Collapse
 
khrome83 profile image
Zane Milakovic

Not me... I just found magic the gathering arena...

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

πŸ˜…

Collapse
 
danondso profile image
Dublin Anondson

If I need to code I just write docs instead, productivity every time.

Collapse
 
molly profile image
Molly Struve (she/her)

So that's where all those PRs came from today πŸ˜‰

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

Spot on πŸ˜„

Collapse
 
axelledrouge profile image
AxelleDRouge

ah the number of software that I write about, design and even plan when I read, walk or play... I have many notebooks full of details on game, mobile app and webapp. But well... they become quickly a bit scary

Collapse
 
markoshiva profile image
Marko Shiva

Me to I particularly write them in detail when procrastinating while doing fav pass time in procrastination called organising. But I don't follow them always while coding. Guess where is the error in productivity?
Detailing the task and steps or not following them when coding. :D

Collapse
 
khrome83 profile image
Zane Milakovic

I run it on my Mac.

I use Shadow.tech to give me a full gaming pc in the cloud. But I am lucky the data center is only 2 hours away and I have a fiber connection. But it’s amazing...

Collapse
 
mlimonczenko profile image
Miranda

It's true! Speaking of writing, I was just writing about this (it's a freebie on my site Books on Code, called '4 Tips to Instant Learning', ahem).

Putting things on the backburner to think about in the back of your mind is backed by science.

I like to think of it as feeding your subconscious information to chew on while you do other things. 😊

Collapse
 
jasterix profile image
Jasterix

You and me both -^

Collapse
 
patryktech profile image
Patryk

I can't draw for πŸ’©, but I spent way too long writing an SVG logo in code and could've spent that time working on the project's actual code. But hey, I now have a project with an awesome logo :D

Collapse
 
swarupkm profile image
Swarup Kumar Mahapatra

When I have to write code, i negotiate with Business Analyst/Product Owner to keep the feature simple so that I can write less code...

Less code, less bugs

Collapse
 
darksmile92 profile image
Robin Kretzschmar

Can relate 😁 or self set deadlines for ridiculously unnecessary coding projects to convince myself that I need to keep working on it instead of the task I should be doing instead

Collapse
 
caelumf profile image
CaelumF

Yes! Coding something is Actually Productive And Not Procastinating

Collapse
 
valentinprgnd profile image
Valentin Prugnaud 🦊

Generates inspiration, inspiration makes us productive, it makes sense πŸ™‚