DEV Community

Ben Halpern
Ben Halpern

Posted on

Parents of DEV: How are you teaching your children about technology?

(Happy Father's Day 💙)

Top comments (33)

Collapse
 
mgh87 profile image
Martin Huter

My son is a little over a year, and the mobile phone is a magnetic for him. Could be related that we use it quite a lot 😁.

We try to motivate him to play with other stuff, because the impressions of the world you get by swiping are really limited.
We try to minimize any screen time. (He'll have plenty early enough)

So atm we are kind of removing technology from the equation, to try to inspire him to play with "boring" stuff where you train imagination.

There is still a lot time left to train him to become a zombie in front of a screen 😇

Collapse
 
craigbutcher profile image
Craig Butcher

What a subject to talk about on Father’s Day! My kids are growing up with technology around them with Apple TV, iPad (long defunct due to an accident with a marmite jar), iPhones, and laptop / desktop. We do limit the screen time as much as we can and send them to play outside, riding bikes, beaches, sports. Gaming is a big part of it all and recently have to teach about team work.

Now excuse me, I think my kids wants me to play Portal 2. Now that’s a game teaching physics...

Collapse
 
dowenb profile image
Ben Dowen

My youngest is almost 3. She loves playing with the Codeapilla!

"fisher-price Codeapilla toy"

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

Neat 😀

Collapse
 
lightalloy profile image
Anna Buianova

I have a 5-year-old. Using touchscreen comes "naturally" by playing games or watching cartoons on Ipad, or using my phone.
But I hate when she tries to use a laptop screen as it is a touchscreen :D
I haven't taught using keyboard and mouse much yet though I should probably. She does some typing occasionally, which also helped a bit with learning letters and reading. And this game is fun and helps to learn how to use a mouse and understand a bit of English.

She also visits the robotics lessons where they build stuff with Lego education sets.

Collapse
 
champi profile image
Champi

This is interesting. Maybe new generations won't use the old fashioned keyboard/mouse prefirerals.

Collapse
 
orbatos profile image
orbatos

You want them to use a keyboard and mouse. While other input systems are being developed, the keyboard is by far the most necessary for work and interactive literacy. As much as you may be hearing otherwise, programming is usually done by keyboard and fancy forums of interaction are more tiring, less accurate and less efficient.

Collapse
 
lightalloy profile image
Anna Buianova

Maybe, but not very soon I guess :)

Collapse
 
chiangs profile image
Stephen Chiang

In terms of tech in general

I like to ask my son (9 yrs) how he thinks things work and how they are made; his favorite video game, tv, how we send each other messages and emojis. I also ask him who he thinks makes things in tech.

Sometimes I ask him to explain to me or teach me something and that generates a good exploratory conversation. Other questions I ask him about tech are on how they affect our lives, do they make it better or easier, etc.

In terms of coding specifically:

At ngVikings, Jeff Whelpley and his daughter Mady gave a really great talk on their app that is built on top of Blockly.

During this talk he mentions how using teaching for visual learners also really works well on kids. He also gave an outline and timeline on how he got his daughter to be the awesome hacker she is today.

He started with the low-level fundamentals and only 1 concept per week:

Week 1: Intro to coding

Week 2: Variables

Week 3: Functions

Week 4: Conditionals

Week 5: Loops

Week 6: Object

The example Mady gave of each fundamental were really good, so I used them with my son. For example, variables are just boxes that have a name and that you can put anything into and functions are recipes, etc.

Lastly, remember to continue to limit tech and scope and scale up as your child becomes more and more enthusiastic / skilled.

Collapse
 
yucer profile image
yucer

There are some concerns about the exposure of children to screens.

Somebody told me that the rich people from the tech world (like Bill Gates, etc...) don't allow they children to use screen devices at all. I wonder if that's true.

I like more those toys that teach to code, but I think it is for 3+ years plus.

In the meanwhile, there is no play like a ball.

They need to go outside and learn how the world works, before starting to understand the information on it.

My advice is to stimulate them to read books first.

Collapse
 
orbatos profile image
orbatos

+++! For the ball, hand, body, eye coordination is very important. Additionally keep an eye on actual literacy and writing as a physical skill. I view reading off of tablets regularly as ok, but in addition to other physically interactive things. Note that eink displays are better for eye strain and backlit displays (regular screens) should not be used at night as they affect sleep cycles.

Collapse
 
dowenb profile image
Ben Dowen

Oh my kids, 3 (almost) and 5, both have Kindle fire 8 tablets. They are getting proficient with a touchscreen.

I highly recommend some of the games like The Furchester Hotel in the CBeebies Playtime app. bbc.co.uk/cbeebies/watch/furcheste...

Collapse
 
orbatos profile image
orbatos

You won't have to worry about touch screen proficiency, designers work to make touch ui intuitive, at least to a degree. What you will have far more trouble with is teaching how these systems actually work. They will need to learn computer use, not just phone games.

Collapse
 
cookrdan profile image
Dan

They teach themselves when they steal my wife’s iPhone. My phone is off bounds. :)

My kids are very young now. In the future I hope to expose them to more tech but with good boundaries.

It’s sad here in Japan. I have kids at my university that can barely type. So I will try to help my kids a lot.

Collapse
 
antdoesit profile image
Antoinette Mkwapatira

My 4yo has a Kindle Fire and an Echo for for kids. I didn't have to "teach" him anything on the Fire. I just unlocked it and let him have at it. Funny thing: He stole the device password after watching me enter it a few times. I guess I wasn't as secretive about it as I thought.

I did have to change the wake word on the Echo for Kids and set a time limit on it so he wouldn't chatter at it constantly.

I'm convinced that the test of good UI is whether or not a four year old could figure it out in 5 minutes or less.

Collapse
 
dvddpl profile image
Davide de Paolis

I have 2 boys, 8 and 11 yo. i haven´t started yet with coding - even though i often thought about buying some of these toys where you configure the movements with coding.. Our tech approach with them is getting them involved in many things we do that are somehow tech related.
Using word-execel-powerpoint for the projects at school, photo editing and composition for our travel photobook, very simple video editing for short movies and stop motion ( with lego or playmobil or playdough).
A few times i played with them with Scratch and i was with the bigger one at a Scratch Meetup/Dojo.

It is not yet very structured but we try to do lots of things that make fun and let us be together.

( actually i need to finish a post about all this, which i have in draft since months..)

Collapse
 
desi profile image
Desi

My step-kid is only 4, but loves robots, so for his birthday this past year I got him a robot that he can build and rebuild and whatever. We're also a music family, so I picked up a Tech Will Save Us electro-dough kit that's a huge hit.

We also watch Reboot, which was my partner's and my favorite show when we were kids, and I'm beginning to regret it.

Collapse
 
bennypowers profile image
Benny Powers 🇮🇱🇨🇦

We don't go out of our way to teach them how to use our devices. If they have a problem or are curious, they ask and we answer.

We try as much as possible to discourage them from using our devices, which is harder to do when she wants to play a switch game.

Collapse
 
johnkazer profile image
John Kazer

Both mine (4 and 7) intermittently enjoy scratch junior and the robot navigation problem solving type of games. Also love typing, augmented reality and simple free VR on Google cardboard.

But it all comes in small amounts of time, I was always (still am) very bad at stopping when the fun stopped! So trying to teach the ability to leave off after a while.

Collapse
 
dukeboxz profile image
Stephen Jackson

My step son is 8 and have introduced him to coding through scratch. It kept him occupied for a bit but not sure if it really clicked. Have also shown him games I played as a kid which amazes him. He really struggles to imagine a time when touch screens did not exist.

Collapse
 
jeremy profile image
Jeremy Schuurmans

Technology education in public schools is very important to me, and I'm grateful that my son (who's in 1st grade) goes to an elementary school with a solid tech program.

I remember when I toured his school, I was drooling over the computers they get to use because they were machines I could only dream of owning.

At home I plan to start taking the technology education he receives at school and teaching him about responsible web usage and all that stuff, which I view as my responsibility, not his school's.

I also like to teach him about the joy of technology. One of the things I've done in the past that I really enjoyed was coding a CLI that would respond when he typed his name and would tell him funny jokes.

He wants his own computer, so I promised him that if he learned to read by the time he got to first grade, we'd build a computer together and I'd start teaching him to code. He crushed that goal, so I'm looking forward to doing that with him over the summer.

Some comments may only be visible to logged-in visitors. Sign in to view all comments.