DEV Community

Ben Halpern
Ben Halpern

Posted on

What activities do you do to take your mind off of software?

Top comments (38)

Collapse
 
neilwhitlow profile image
Neil Whitlow

Read books, play Magic The Gathering in real life with friends casually around a kitchen table, woodworking (including the never-ending house remodeling projects). Can't really say yardwork in summer distracts, because lawn-mowing time is catch up on development podcasts time :)

Collapse
 
edm00se profile image
Eric McCormick

Aside from spending time with my family or playing with my kid and dog, any of my other hobbies come into play. Reading, biking, snow shoeing, photography, board games, video games, and occasional wood working.

Collapse
 
lanzafame profile image
Adrian Lanzafame

Play darts. It is a game that has a really tight feedback loop, lots of repetition, and is intricate i.e. how you hold/release/throw/put force into the dart, how you aim at the board, how you place your feet, how you stand (back straight vs slouched), whether you lean forward or back, whether you move the rest of your body as you throw, what stage of breathing you are at when you throw the dart, etc. It leaves no room to think about software :)

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

Sounds perfect 😁

Collapse
 
realzedgoat profile image
zedgoat

Meditation, and running. In a way I consider these priorities one and two with life before anything else, not in a flag waving way, just in regards to physical and mental health as a platform for everything else.

Outside of that also being really careful to ration out technology use and attention use during the day - you can't expect to focus on anything taxing if you're diluting your attention between phone / twitter / news / netflix / games / etc / etc / etc.

Collapse
 
melmar12 profile image
Melissa Martinez

I go for long walks or hikes and practice yoga. Yoga is great because it's hard to think about anything else while you're upside down in a headstand. It's also good for my terrible posture, one of these days I'll learn to sit properly while coding.

I also love snowboarding, although I can only make a few trips a year to the mountains. It's the ultimate distraction from life, and my seasonal treat for myself. I'm almost forced to stay off the internet, there's often terrible or no internet connection, and being distracted by anything else while flying down the slopes isn't an option because I'm usually just focused on not falling off a cliff and not crashing into a tree or another human. So, while I'm in the mountains, I can be totally in the moment and like enjoy some breath taking views.

Collapse
 
alexroan profile image
Alex Roan

I play football (soccer) for the most part as a getaway from software, but mainly as an exercise to refresh my mind, especially if the work has stagnated slightly and motivation is down.

If the software I'm working on excites me then I rarely take myself away from it.

Collapse
 
casen profile image
Casen

I get away from computers and devices entirely. Personally, I like to do more tactile things like camping and building fires, working on projects around the house, gardening, biking, snowboarding, etc.

Collapse
 
mauskin profile image
Kirill Myshkin

I play Kendama. It’s an excuse to stand up from your desk and get to move a little bit.

The best thing it’s probably has infinite complexity, like programming. Learn the basics and then build more complex tricks on top of it.

Collapse
 
kwelch profile image
Kyle Welch

I have one of the easiest things to shift my focus in my kids and family. In addition to that video games and hockey are other passions. I find losing myself in the virtual reality of a game can help really clear my mind on big blocking issues or at the close of a project to remain refreshed.

Collapse
 
nemrism profile image
Aymeric A

In winter I go skiing as much as I can
In summer time I go for walks or cycling frequently
All year long I'm playing football & squash once a week
So basically, I love to have physical activities, outdoor if possible, to get away from my many screens!

Collapse
 
paragoniescott profile image
Scott Arciszewski

I actually don't for the most part. It's been months since I've been able to take my mind off software for any appreciable length of time. Occasionally I do stop for meals, sleep, restroom breaks, etc. When it does happen, I don't know what to do with my time so I end up creating a new project for myself.

Collapse
 
nullpointer0x00 profile image
Carlton Hanna

Endurance sports and training. Running, biking, rock/ice climbing, mountaineering, and any thing outside. If I didn't do this, I would constantly be doing software and eventually run into burnout. You need time away to let the good ideas sneek in from the subconscious.

Collapse
 
soundstruck profile image
Dina Gathe

I play guitar, and play ice hockey twice a week!

Collapse
 
wilsoncampusano profile image
Wilson Campusano Jorge

I play paintball, the guitar and go out a lot.

Collapse
 
jubaespinosa profile image
Julius Espinosa

Reading and browsing imgur or twitter.