DEV Community

Ben Halpern
Ben Halpern

Posted on • Updated on

What is the next language you want to learn, and why?

Top comments (235)

Collapse
 
subbramanil profile image
Subbu Lakshmanan

Kotlin I was following up Kotlin from the initial days. Now Since Google announced as official language for android, I am putting more focus on learning it. I have a good experience with javascript, I believe I can quickly grasp the functional programming aspects of Kotlin. I love it :)

Collapse
 
hrishio profile image
Hrishi Mittal

I just started doing this free tutorial yesterday. You might also find it useful - iwillteachyoukotlin.com/

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

That's great.

Collapse
 
sdevin_ profile image
Sivaraj

I started Kotlin. I love it

Collapse
 
succhib profile image
Succhi

I want to learn Python. I believe that this is the language of the future. You can kickstart your AI, ML or data science journey in a sec, if you know Python.

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

Python's wonderful

Collapse
 
orask profile image
Oras Al-Kubaisi

It is great, easy to learn and you can do alot with few lines of code. I have started learning it recently and I'm totally hooked. For ML, you can use jupyter notebook and evaluate (run) each cell individually to get immediate result rather than writing the whole program and run later.

Collapse
 
theadnan profile image
Adnan Kičin

Rust - I've heard a lot of good things about it (like for example that Rust is everything Go wanted to be), and since I've been programming in C/C++ earlier, I think the learning curve won't be as steep.

Collapse
 
bgalvao profile image
Bernardo

you would love to read rust book second edition! I think Rust's learning struggle is the borrow checker.

Collapse
 
theadnan profile image
Adnan Kičin

Wow, thank you!
Just the thing I need :)

Collapse
 
z3dy_ profile image
fred

C, because the Linux kernel is written in it, and i want to understand how it is build. Also it´s a clean and powerful language in my opinion. Later on maybe c++, because of game development.

Collapse
 
loderunner profile image
Charles Francoise

I often say that: as long as kernels and their primary interfaces are written in C, there's good reason to learn it. It's not going away, and it's the most fundamental way to interact with your operating system.

Collapse
 
k2t0f12d profile image
Bryan Baldwin

You don't have to switch off pure C to write games. I'm writing a fully featured game in C. There's just a minor overhead wrapping C++ object methods so you can call them as C functions. That should only be required in the platform code anyway.

Collapse
 
martin_betz profile image
Martin Betz

PHP because it seems to have grown mature – and has Laravel with its fine ecosystem for business apps.

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

Wasn't expecting to see PHP, but I feel like maturity does get so overlooked as a quality of a language. Lack of maturity in so many ways is my absolute biggest frustration whenever I work with JavaScript.

Collapse
 
daniel15 profile image
Daniel Lo Nigro

Personally I'd rather use a stack that's tried and tested, and that I know will still be around in a few years time. I've had heaps of issues getting Node.js sites working after server upgrades, whereas PHP sites I created 10+ years ago are still happily running on PHP 7 with no issues and only minor updates required. For new sites I'd stick to PHP or ASP.NET, the server-side JavaScript ecosystem is just too volatile for me to even consider using it for any serious development.

Also see: Happiness is a Boring Stack: expatsoftware.com/articles/happine...

Collapse
 
martin_betz profile image
Martin Betz

I wasnt't expecting to learn PHP, actually. Python has been a dear friend for quite a few years, but for my projects often Django and even Flask felt like an overkill. And I often struggled with packages for functionality that seemed very important to me, especially user management. I had a very bad opinion about PHP, mainly because of Wordpress' wild source code, some very strange plugins from its ecosystem and documentation that is so scattered around the web and often not reliable. But Composer, Packagist, Symfony and also the great learning resources (Laracasts, Laravel-News.com) really are my go-to learning places right now.

Thread Thread
 
incognos profile image
Sina K

After 15 years of PHP, Python/Django was a breath of fresh air... sandwiched in there was Ruby. I could never see Flask as overkill for anything, it is pretty much a framework with nothing - how did that become overkill?

Django with Rest Framework allows me to create backends in an instance with full admin CRUD for whatever front-end of the week (been through Angular, React and now Ember) I would do a bakeoff any day of the week against PHP and Laravel (I could even bake-off against myself, hehe...)

PHP has it's merits, but I am so glad to be rid of a the toolbox with too many dysfunctional hammers and screwdrivers.

Collapse
 
ezekgabrielse profile image
Zeke Gabrielse

Same. I often find myself getting frustrated with JavaScript's volatile ecosystem.

Collapse
 
billperegoy profile image
billperegoy

I want to learn a functional language that I can use for backend development. At one point I thought that would be Elixir/Phoenix but now that I've written a lot of Elm code I've become very partial to strongly type languages. But then I look at Haskell and it doesn't seem nearly as practical is Elixir/OTP so it's likely I'll be learning Elixir this year.

Collapse
 
carstenk_dev profile image
Carsten

OCaml is very similar yes and you can also have a look at F#

Also: Why does Haskell seem impractical? IMO it has quite strong support for Webbackends - have a look at Servant / Servant-Elm for example

Collapse
 
billperegoy profile image
billperegoy

From my point of view, Haskell seems less practical because there is very little writing on Haskell web frameworks written for regular folks like me. Phoenix and Elixir seem much more approachable for a relative newcomer to FP.

From my limited poking around, F# looks really cool.

Collapse
 
high_rigour profile image
Josh Burke

Have you had a look at OCaml? It is very similar to Elm and in use at Facebook as part of the toolchain for Flow/Reason/Infer.

Collapse
 
rhencke profile image
Robert Hencke

Erlang (and Elixir). Despite being 20 years old, Erlang seem strikingly suited to many modern challenges (high availability, distributed processing, fundamentally concurrent, network transparent, live upgrades, etc).

Collapse
 
roman01la profile image
Roman Liutikov

Clojure, because Lisp is the only true programming language :P

Collapse
 
high_rigour profile image
Josh Burke

I've just picked up "Clojure for the Brave and True" and its a wonderful introduction to the language.

Collapse
 
k2t0f12d profile image
Bryan Baldwin

l̶i̶s̶p̶ Java.

Collapse
 
integralist profile image
Integralist

You might find this useful leanpub.com/programming-clojure/

Collapse
 
ezekgabrielse profile image
Zeke Gabrielse

Elixir and Phoenix. I'm a huge Ruby/Rails fan and seeing Elixir/Phoenix resemble those makes me happy.

Collapse
 
pystar profile image
Pystar

Can you learn Elixir without knowing Erlang?

Collapse
 
high_rigour profile image
Josh Burke

Well, you cannot use Elixir outside of the Erlang VM because it is required as part of the language. But you don't have to dive into Erlang and write it as part of your day to day. One thing you will find after writing a bit of Elixir is that Erlang becomes more approachable and understandable. Elixir just expands out to Erlang using macros, and then compiles to Erlang VM byte code to be executed by the VM.

Collapse
 
jamesdesbyrne profile image
James Byrne 🏹

Absolutely, it's definitely a boon but far from a requirement

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

Yeah. Elixir doesn't really resemble Ruby as a language fundamentally, but the whole ecosystem was clearly designed to be friendly to the Ruby community's expectations.

Collapse
 
mradamh profile image
Adam Horak

I'd love to pick up Elixir, but I think realistically speaking it is going to be C# for me this year. My employer has a large percentage of back-end code in C#.

I've resisted getting into .NET because I didn't want to be a "windows developer" but with .NET Core maturing it looks like there is finally a reasonable cross-platform development story emerging.

Collapse
 
rchallme profile image
rchallme

What's wrong with being a windows developer? The majority of enterprise systems are .NET. I know it's not the coolest thing, but I've been thinking of learning C# this year because there always seems to be very good paying jobs for it.

Collapse
 
mradamh profile image
Adam Horak

Nothing wrong with it at all. Many of my co-workers are .NET devs.

For me:

  • I've always preferred working with Linux/OS X. Just personal preference.
  • .NET jobs seem to trend toward large companies. "Enterprise systems" as you noted. I've tended to enjoy working for smaller companies which (generally, not always) don't do as much .NET. The place I'm at now is more mid-size (about 600 total employees).

I actually think C# is a pretty nice language from what little I've done so far.

Thread Thread
 
tenezill profile image
Sebastian Tenezill

Idk why but I prefer c# over Java

I work as a Java dev for a mid sized company which uses all the oracle stuff.

My recommendation is stay away from oracle and have a good time :>

Thread Thread
 
daveclarke profile image
daveclarke

I like C#. I worked as a C++ developer for a long time and there is so much ceremony associated with C++ just to avoid wandering into the wrong bit of memory. Moving to C# was a relief. I followed that with a stint as a Java developer and found it a bit of a leap backwards although I did like Java enums. Now I can develop .NET Core on my MBP without having to boot a VM and deploy to docker. I'm currently looking at Elm for some frontend dev.

Thread Thread
 
cubiclebuddha profile image
Cubicle Buddha

C# is gonna get a lot nicer sooner when non-nullable reference types are introduced in C#8 and the next .NET Core. Then all my C# brethren can experience the joy that we've had in TypeScript and Kotlin for a while.

Collapse
 
samxeshun profile image
Kwaku Eshun

This was me before I got into enterprise development from a purely iOS background. C# is probably my favourite language now. And oh, apart from backend development, I am having fun learning Unity 3D.

Collapse
 
stoft profile image
Rasmus Larsson

Check out Akka.NET in that case, it's more or less the Erlang/Elixir OTP model on .NET. It won't be Elixir from a language perspective but it will let you work with similar concepts.

Collapse
 
soundstruck profile image
Dina Gathe

I want to dive deeper into Elm. I did some tutorials a year ago, but much has changed in Elm-world so I need to revisit. There was much to be excited about with Elm, and it was refreshing compared to the JS ecosystem.

I'm kind of python-curious, too. ;-)

I spent the past year learning Elixir/Phoenix/VueJS, and I've learned so much. It was my first experience with functional programming.

Collapse
 
srikanthav profile image
Srikanth A V

What resources did you use for elixir/phoenix/vue? I'm planning to learn these now after dipping my toes in web dev (built an app for a client with nodejs/express, MySQL, bootstrap/jQuery). Thanks!

Collapse
 
soundstruck profile image
Dina Gathe

I kind of went deep....I read Programming Erlang (Joe Armstrong) -> Programming Elixir (Dave Thomas) -> Programming Phoenix (Chris McCord), because it was really my first experience with functional programming and I wanted to really grasp the the underlying language/concepts before tackling the web framework.

I was also curious and wanting to understand OTP further, so I read these two awesome books, too: Designing for Scalability with Erlang/OTP (Cesarini/Vinoski) and The Little Elixir & OTP Guidebook (Benjamin Tan Wei Hao).

It's possible you could be OK and up and running with just Programming Phoenix, though.

As for Vue, there were really just a few blog articles and the Vue guide when I was starting with it, so there are probably better resources now. Here's some dialogue on various ways to work with Vue/Phoenix...there are a few approaches whether you want to use Brunch or Webpack, or just have the Vue client completely separate and communication to Phoenix backend via API only. My app is using Brunch+Vue within the Phoenix framework.

elixirforum.com/t/how-to-get-phoen...

Have fun learning that stack...I know I did! :-)

Thread Thread
 
srikanthav profile image
Srikanth A V

Thank you so much for the detailed reply! I have been thinking of buying Dave's book for a while. It's time I pulled the trigger ;)

Will also check Programming Phoenix.

I'm looking at some video tutorials for vue by Traversy Media, Eric Hanchett and others. It's good to know what build tools and setup others are using.

Thread Thread
 
soundstruck profile image
Dina Gathe

One more thing: while the Programming Phoenix book will be great for getting to know the framework, Phoenix 1.3 will be introducing some changes that you may want to just keep an eye on. Here's a write-up (and the video is the best overview): swanros.com/phoenix-1-3-is-pure-lo...

:-)

Thread Thread
 
srikanthav profile image
Srikanth A V

Thanks once again! You should write a post about your experience learning Elixir/Phoenix and Vue. It will definitely help a lot of people :)

Collapse
 
k2t0f12d profile image
Bryan Baldwin

Jon Blow's JAI is aimed at programmers who care about low-level, performant code, and want to escape the friction of working with languages whose standards have spiralled out of control. If he ever releases it. ;)

Collapse
 
worksofbarry profile image
Liam Barry

This isn't what I am waiting for too!

Collapse
 
invinciblesaad profile image
Muhammad Saad Khan

I am a growth marketing manager. I have set a goal to learn Python this year as I am starting a project for Python programmers/developers. So, to understand them as potential customers I decided to learn it from scratch as I have no programming background (I am a geologist by education).

I am taking help of friend who is a pro python programmer. I will also be using the book "Automate the Boring Stuff with Python: Practical Programming for Total Beginners" by Al Sweigart.

I am looking to connect with Python programmers too so I have subscribed to /r/learnpython/ and /r/Python/ on Reddit.

I am listening to TalkPython podcast to understand what's going on in the Python world and selected some newsletters as well to follow the news like Pycoder's Weekly, Python Weekly.

Collapse
 
tenezill profile image
Sebastian Tenezill

Check out the Coursera.org courses they are free and very good for beginners

Collapse
 
invinciblesaad profile image
Muhammad Saad Khan

Thanks Sebastian. Looking at it right now.

Collapse
 
emmanuelobo profile image
Emmanuel Obogbaimhe

PHP and/or Python.

PHP because my potential next job uses it and although I am not a fan of it I'll have to learn it by default. I just wish it was more relevant in this modern day.

Python because it is just an interesting language and it seems fun. You can get a lot done in few lines of code so that intrigues me.

Collapse
 
tamas profile image
Tamás Szelei

Rust, hands down. Go would also be a nice candidate (and a bit more mature), but I feel that some of the design choices in Go (like no generics or exporting names via casing) are weird and limiting. Rust on the other hand is shaping up to be really, really great.