DEV Community

Ben Halpern
Ben Halpern

Posted on

What post-pandemic activity are you most excited about?

Once we're fully out of the woods and back to (the new) normal, what about normal life are you most looking forward to?

Top comments (23)

Collapse
 
justinvincent2 profile image
Justin Vincent

Traveling. I had to cancel a couple (professional and personal) trips due to the lockdown. Like others have said, the cabin fever is strong.

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

For me it's working from a coffee shop...

I don't do it that often, but I really realize how much I enjoy changing settings in order to break out of a mental block.

There's plenty I miss but this is a very frustrating one.

Collapse
 
kspeakman profile image
Kasey Speakman • Edited

Well, the pandemic taught me that I love being a home-body. So I'm going to pursue making that happen for working after it's over too.

But to answer your question, I enjoy going out to restaurants now and again. And am looking forward to doing that. My wife and I have been getting take-out and eating it in the car for date night.

Collapse
 
geopopos profile image
George Roros

Going and sitting in a coffee shop

Collapse
 
jvarness profile image
Jake Varness

Actually being able to take my kids somewhere other than into the back yard.

During this time we haven't been infected with COVID, thank God, but we all do have a massive case of cabin fever.

I at least used to be able to take one of my kids to the store, and my oldest used to be able to go to school. He won't be able to go back for some time, but getting in the car and going anywhere will be a huge upgrade from being forced to stay at home all day every day.

Collapse
 
ahferroin7 profile image
Austin S. Hemmelgarn

Travel, definitely.

This all happened quite literally just after me getting a new job that in theory allows me to travel regularly without issue (working remote plus enough income to support traveling a few times a year plus 5 weeks paid vacation a year). There are numerous places around the world that I really want to see, and it's been rather painful finally having the means to do so but not being able to take advantage of it.

Collapse
 
lechodiman profile image
Luis Chodiman

Going to the gym

Collapse
 
briwa profile image
briwa • Edited

Playing basketball. I can't wait for when going to a park and play a random pickup game with strangers is considered normal again.

Also to add on to that, watching NBA games.

Collapse
 
jakesweb profile image
Jacob Colborn

Going to the grocery store myself. My family has been utilizing delivery and pickup services but I really love to browse through the produce section and see what inspires me to cook. I love seeing all of the fresh fruits and vegetables.

Collapse
 
richardeschloss profile image
Richard Schloss

Hugging people.

Collapse
 
richardeschloss profile image
Richard Schloss

Thanks everyone! I almost forgot what hugging people feels like! I've hugged dogs though...

Collapse
 
ssimontis profile image
Scott Simontis

Honestly, nothing. I am not a social creature and I have loved not needing to justify keeping to myself all the time. I'm terrified to go back into the "normal" world and what that will do to my anxiety levels. I also feel like this whole ordeal has made me a lot more cynical and made me realize how many of my friends are pretty shitty and selfish people so I'd rather stick to being stuck inside.

Collapse
 
deciduously profile image
Ben Lovy

In-person game nights. The virtual stuff is fun but doesn't quite hit the same and I don't get to pet anybody's dog.

Collapse
 
elmuerte profile image
Michiel Hendriks

Socializing with friends and coworkers.

Collapse
 
metalmi profile image
Ivan Almasi

Going to the gym. And thankfully it is back from this week.

Collapse
 
yechielk profile image
Yechiel Kalmenson

In-person conferences for sure!