DEV Community

Bertrand2808
Bertrand2808

Posted on

Miss you game dev

When I started to take an interest in development, I was immediately interested in game dev. After all, I've been playing games since I was a kid! So I started to teach myself how to make little rpg-type games, in Python at first, which was so much fun!

It's probably thanks to this that I decided to change careers and that I'm now doing a master's degree in game development.

However, with my master's degree in software development engineering and architecture, and my work-study placement in a company where I'm doing full stack (more back than front), I've lost sight of game dev, and the more I think about it, the more I think about how much fun I was having, and how much I wanted to keep coding.

Today, I'd like to force myself to free up some time to get back to it, but I have the feeling that I won't have the time or the energy, and that it'll stay in the closet forever.

That makes me kinda sad, so I wanted to share this with someone somewhere ahah

Hope you're fine and you're enjoying whatever you do !
Keep safe

Bertrand

Top comments (8)

Collapse
 
pixelrella profile image
Pixelrella

Haha, I know the feeling.

2 years ago, I changed paths after 12 years of working as a game developer. I did this to take a break and seek other opportunities to advance my career.

I am still working in the game industry.

But I miss working closely with artists and designers, creating fun, responsive and simply cool game experiences, iterating back and forth, seeing how something exiting is coming together.

Collapse
 
bertrand2808 profile image
Bertrand2808

Wow I see ! I hope you'll find again those feelings !

Collapse
 
samejima profile image
Samejima

I have been slowly piecing together a game while on a job search... you should just do hobby stuff at night when you have spare time

Collapse
 
bertrand2808 profile image
Bertrand2808

Yeah you're right, I know I should find some times.. But with work, school, workout and all personal stuff, that's hard ahah

Collapse
 
samejima profile image
Samejima

its difficult but doing it could be a great stress reliever.

Collapse
 
jeanpoffo profile image
Jean Poffo

If you have an opportunity to change to game dev, don't evitate, only if you dont have a stability to do the change. Follow your dreams.

Collapse
 
pramon18 profile image
pramon18

I hope you find the time to get back to game dev it someday. :)

Collapse
 
bertrand2808 profile image
Bertrand2808

Thanks ! I hope too :)