DEV Community

Bo Louie
Bo Louie

Posted on

ChatGPT is helping me learn JavaScript

Image of open note-book showing handwriting about JavaScript Operator conceptsI'm halfway through JavaScript: Understanding the Weird Parts instructed by Anthony Alicea on Udemy. I purchased this course way back in January of 2020 and completed roughly a quarter of the lessons. That's when I fell off track and left it at that, until recently.

About six weeks ago, I re-started the course and got through the first quarter of the lessons for the second time. I've been dedicating at least four days a week (few hours per day) to taking notes, reading MDN web docs, but not much coding.

I'm determined to fully grasp all of the weird parts and as many advanced topics of JavaScript.

Tony makes JavaScript programming less intimidating. The 'big word alerts' or 'conceptual and frameworks asides' get presented in simplistic and straight-forward ways. The material nicely builds section-by-section and each 'weird part' gets thoroughly explained using minimalistic visuals.

However, a major blocker to my JavaScript learning progress has been my method of capturing Tony's material. I've been note-taking, hand-writing snippets of code, even color-coding the syntax on paper! Gasp ...right!?

Well, my method has changed since ChatGPT was released!

With the help of ChatGPT, my lessons with Tony on the weird parts of JavaScript feel way more motivating, flowing, and easier to review. My pace and depth of capturing the course material has drastically improved with ChatGPT. When I don't fully understand what Tony explains in the course, I turn to ChatGPT to gain insight, generate different code, or search for specific context. For instance, I was able to ask ChatGPT to explain how function factories and closures are important to front-end development.

ChatGPT gave me clarity, instantly: "As a front-end developer, you can use function factories and closures to create reusable and modular code for your web applications.

Lately, I've been trying to figure what platform is best for archiving the collections of my programming notes. I want to be able to revisit this material for future projects and interviews.

I recently leveraged ChatGPT to help me draw neat comparisons between JavaScript and Python––the programming language that I'm most comfortable coding at this time. I've been taking advantage of ChatGPT by drafting stories of my JavaScript lessons on my Medium account but I'm thinking of switching to Notion.

What's your go-to method of managing your programming notes?

I'm also now aware of the new Guidelines for AI-assisted articles on DEV, which makes me curious about how others might share their AI-assisted programming learning journey on here.

Top comments (0)