DEV Community

Bostik
Bostik

Posted on

total confusion

Hi, lately I feel total confusion when trying to develop something. There are too many languages/frameworks and most of the libraries are poorly documented... For example, after a few years I picked up Python again and was reading the Starlette documentation. Everything is easy as long as you publish a "hello world", but as the project grows no indications are given, especially when you try to integrate a DB. And here even sadder notes: sqlalchemy is a proliferation of information, you never understand what to use, and when you try to use something it doesn't work. For example, if you launch the Starlette app with Uvicorn you cannot use asyncio, except through some workarounds. I had also tried using Flask, but there were some login libraries that were no longer maintained. I was looking for something lightweight to run on small VMs, which is why I opted for Python, and at the same time easy to learn since I do it in my spare time. What do you recommend? I've tried also Rust and Go but things are the same. Maybe I should move to Java?

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
dennistobar profile image
Dennis Tobar

Hi, it's normal to feel overwhelmed when you start learning a new language/framework. I encourage you to learn first about algorithms (not calculating the O notation... just how to solve simple tasks). After that, learn the syntax and last about the framework.

I assume you barely know Python, so you could start with "Python for Everybody: do1.dr-chuck.com/pythonlearn/EN_us..." to understand how the language works. Then, move on to other areas (trying Django, Flask, etc.).

One mistake some newcomers make is learning the framework instead of the language. I've heard a lot of people say "I'm a programmer in React, but I don't know JavaScript."

Focus on learning the basics and then explore frameworks and other resources. You can find tutorials on YouTube or take a course from Coursera, Udemy, or another learning platform. Being a self-paced learner is challenging if you don't have a roadmap. You can find some roadmaps to follow at this link: roadmap.sh/.

Nice to see you here and don't be shy to introduce yourself in our Weekly Welcome Thread!