DEV Community

Cover image for How did you estimate your coding experience level for dev.to?
Boots
Boots

Posted on

How did you estimate your coding experience level for dev.to?

I'm curious: How did others feel about evaluating their experience level inside their dev.to profile?1

I'll be honest about something that I feel kind of weird about... I just set mine to 5, the max ooOOOoOoO.

Do I really feel like "la crème de la crème" of engineers? Like a 5 out of 5?? Like a 5x dev?!? No. Absolutely not.

However, I wanted to start seeing more challenging content in my feed, and I figured that would be the most straightforward way.

Hence, I'm curious if anyone else felt unsure about how they estimated their skill-level.

Opening the floor to discussion.

Photo of the Content Customization section of UX Settings page

This is what Content Customization looks like as of 31 March, 2020

  1. If you have no idea what I'm talking about, go to your UX Settings and scroll to Content Customization.  

Top comments (10)

Collapse
 
vonheikemen profile image
Heiker

I haven't answered that one. I need more context on what those numbers mean.

Some people really want to know where to find "the good stuff", I really think there should be a way of having easy access to that. What if somewhere in the UI there was a select where you could modify that experience value and alters the current list? If you wanted to see the latest article about nuclear rocket surgery, you could go to the latest tab and choose 5 in this imaginary select.

Collapse
 
brettimus profile image
Boots

Yeah I think having a system for ranking for complexity has to be pretty hard! Wondering if the dev team ever exposes a subset of their data for ML projects? That’d be a cool challenge to the community to try to give a complexity score to articles (though the probably do this internally??)

Collapse
 
mabla0531 profile image
Matthew Bland

I like to think I'm a 5-star C developer.
Let's see who gets it :P

Collapse
 
brettimus profile image
Boots

🤔 is this a pointer joke???

Collapse
 
mabla0531 profile image
Matthew Bland

Certainly is 😂

Collapse
 
brettimus profile image
Boots

Hmmm yeah I have noticed that too—“the good stuff” as @vonheikemen put it, usually isn’t popular, but that’s not always the case!

Could be a cool project, imo, to do a community led weekly roundup of the 7 “most technically challenging” articles of the week, just how Jess does that for the posts with the most interactions

Collapse
 
emma profile image
Emma Goto 🍙

I've got a couple of years of experience, so I put myself in the middle (at a 3). It was a bit hard to decide on that though!

Collapse
 
brettimus profile image
Boots • Edited

Agreed! I've never enjoyed assessing my own engineering skills

Collapse
 
patarapolw profile image
Pacharapol Withayasakpunt

Perhaps dev.to should provide examples of feed, based on tags.

Collapse
 
brettimus profile image
Boots

Yeah it’s starting to seem that way!