DEV Community

Brian Haas
Brian Haas

Posted on

Cloud Resume Challenge: The Beginning

How I got here

Until 2 years ago, I had worked in IT since 1999. I was pretty burned out after 2021 for a lot of reasons and I needed a break, so I resigned my job as a DevOps Engineer in May of 2022.

Fast forward almost 2 years and I am ready to get back into the workforce. Great timing huh? It appears the job market in Devops/cloud engineering is pretty tight and competitive at the moment. Quite a difference from 3-4 years ago when I would get at least 2-3 cold emails, LinkedIn messages, or calls from recruiters every week.

After two years, my skills are a little rusty. I decided to work on refreshing an AWS certification that lapsed back in 2017. Going through the courses, I realized this stuff comes back to me very quickly. Learning news tools and technologies is the standard operating procedure for IT Ops and now DevOps. Digging through documentation, figuring things out, and getting stuff to work is the name of the game.

Enter the CRC

Though my travels back into tech, I came across the Cloud Resume Challenge. This was much more interesting to me. This was actual real world type work that I had done. It wasn't trying to sit through an AWS certification class and remembering what info about each service to regurgitate on a cert exam. So I decided to put the cert on hold and work on this.

In my next few posts, I'll go over each "chunk", as listed in the CRC manual. I'm actually pretty much done, except for actually putting resume content into my resume page instead of just hosting a stub.

It was good to work with all these pieces of tech again. More to come...

Top comments (0)