DEV Community

Cover image for To improve your technical skills, become a concept collector!
Sabrina Koumoin
Sabrina Koumoin

Posted on

To improve your technical skills, become a concept collector!

One of the best pieces of engineering advice my dad ever gave me was: "๐…๐จ๐œ๐ฎ๐ฌ ๐จ๐ง ๐ญ๐ก๐ž ๐œ๐จ๐ง๐œ๐ž๐ฉ๐ญ๐ฌ ๐š๐ง๐ ๐›๐ž๐œ๐จ๐ฆ๐ž ๐š ๐œ๐จ๐ง๐œ๐ž๐ฉ๐ญ ๐œ๐จ๐ฅ๐ฅ๐ž๐œ๐ญ๐จ๐ซ. ๐ˆ๐Ÿ ๐ฒ๐จ๐ฎ ๐ฅ๐ž๐š๐ซ๐ง ๐ก๐จ๐ฐ ๐ญ๐จ ๐ซ๐ž๐š๐ ๐š ๐ฆ๐š๐ฉ, ๐ž๐ฏ๐ž๐ง ๐ฐ๐ก๐ž๐ง ๐ญ๐ก๐ž ๐œ๐ข๐ญ๐ข๐ž๐ฌ ๐œ๐ก๐š๐ง๐ ๐ž ๐ฒ๐จ๐ฎ ๐œ๐š๐ง ๐ฌ๐ญ๐ข๐ฅ๐ฅ ๐Ÿ๐ข๐ง๐ ๐ฒ๐จ๐ฎ๐ซ ๐ฐ๐š๐ฒ".

I love this so much because it's easy to get overwhelmed in tech with all the coding languages and tools available to us. But when you think of yourself as a concept-collector you can start to identify patterns in the things you're learning.

For example, I noticed that no matter what framework I use, web development is essentially made up of these building blocks:

๐ŸŒ„ Views -> What's being displayed to the user

๐ŸŽข Events -> The different things that a user 'causes to happen'

๐Ÿšจ Event Handling -> What we do after the user causes things to happen

๐Ÿ—ณ Storage -> Data/information needs to be stored and retrieved

๐Ÿš Routing and Controllers -> Allows us to create conceptual locations for where data/information should live

โš’ Optimization -> Making things run as smoothly as possible

In other words:

  • The user needs to see something
  • The user needs to interact with what they see and make things happen
  • When they cause something to happen I need to decide what occurs next
  • My data needs to be stored somewhere, and I need to be able to access it
  • I use routes to allow the user to access data kept in different locations
  • I optimize to make things run smoother

When you learn something new, try to grasp the deeper meaning of what's being done. ๐˜Š๐˜ฐ๐˜ฅ๐˜ช๐˜ฏ๐˜จ ๐˜ญ๐˜ข๐˜ฏ๐˜จ๐˜ถ๐˜ข๐˜จ๐˜ฆ๐˜ด ๐˜ข๐˜ฏ๐˜ฅ ๐˜ด๐˜บ๐˜ฏ๐˜ต๐˜ข๐˜น๐˜ฆ๐˜ด ๐˜ข๐˜ณ๐˜ฆ ๐˜ฐ๐˜ฏ๐˜ญ๐˜บ ๐˜ข ๐˜ฎ๐˜ฆ๐˜ข๐˜ฏ๐˜ด ๐˜ต๐˜ฐ ๐˜ข๐˜ฏ ๐˜ฆ๐˜ฏ๐˜ฅ, ๐˜ข ๐˜ธ๐˜ข๐˜บ ๐˜ต๐˜ฐ ๐˜ข๐˜ค๐˜ค๐˜ฐ๐˜ฎ๐˜ฑ๐˜ญ๐˜ช๐˜ด๐˜ฉ ๐˜ข ๐˜ฑ๐˜ถ๐˜ณ๐˜ฑ๐˜ฐ๐˜ด๐˜ฆ. If you notice these patterns you'll be able to switch between frameworks and languages much more easily and confidently!


If you liked this blog post feel free to check out more of my tech content on Instagram, YouTube and Twitter and TikTok!

Top comments (3)

Collapse
 
ddasb profile image
Damien Da Silva Bregieiro

Small but efficient, very good article

Collapse
 
brinascode profile image
Sabrina Koumoin

Thanks Damien!๐Ÿ˜ƒ

Collapse
 
conceptcollector profile image
Chris Boyd

Nicely put! And I just had to say something, since I found this post when I went looking to see how unique my username was. ๐Ÿ˜‹