DEV Community

Cover image for Developer Diaries: Week 5 Fun-damentals, whack-a-mole, and training!
Brittany Joiner
Brittany Joiner

Posted on

Developer Diaries: Week 5 Fun-damentals, whack-a-mole, and training!

This week has been jam-packed with action, but also some breathing space. I feel like I'm starting to get into a rhytmn of code, learn, test, review PRs, etc. Starting to get a groove for coding, and also learning how to channel that groove and pause when I need a break. Speaking of break, this post is coming in on Thursday this week because tomorrow is a Shut It Down Day! (Elastic has been really generous and periodically provides days off to help us rest and recharge. You wanna come work with me? You know you do.)

Crushing Dem Issues

I knocked out a bunch of issues this week and it felt awesome. Had some great momentum, and was able to solve:

  • updating a status on our cases when a comment was submitted (see my giphy below)
  • removing duplicate link icons that were showing up in our app
  • updating copy on some descriptions for form options
  • fixing a bug that was showing the wrong person who sent an email

update-status.gif

It felt really nice to have a week like this, especially after last week where I just felt a bit defeated at how much work it took to move two issues across the line.

FUN-damentals

I'm still getting ramped up of course, and one of the areas I've decided to throw myself in is our IT Fun Committee! Yes, yes, it's like the party planning committee. But it's better. This week we hosted a virtual Show and Tell event for our IT team, and it was amazing. We had a couple people sign up to show off/explain various things they're passionate about, like monarch butterfly gardens, composting, Trello (yes that was me), walking tour around NYC, smart home setup, etc.

It was really fun, and I got to know more members on our IT team that I don't necessarily get to work with every day. I am a huge believer in things like this that may not seem productive are actually really beneficial for creating strong working relationships and helping with collaboration and teamwork. Aka - it does eventually translate to productivity, but honestly it's just fun. You should enjoy the place you work and the people you do it with, and if you can't do things like this, then you're probably not going to stick around long.

Enjoyed seeing that this is a team I can have fun with :)

Here's a screenshot of some of the folks on the call

image.png

Learning Time! React + Typescript

I'm spending most of today in a Typescript workshop by ReactTraining! It's too late to register for this one, but here's a description of what we're covering. We're taking a lunch break right now, but so far this morning has felt really productive and I'm starting to put all sorts of pieces together about Typescript. Excited for this afternoon!

Btw, I've done one of their workshops before and I highly recommend ReactTraining's Workshops. Check out some of their free ones if you're on the fence, but the paid ones are well worth the money. The instructors are really awesome, and there's just something about a live workshop that makes it better than recorded videos you can watch and get distracted by other things happening.

I'll be on holiday next week in southern California, so you probably won't hear from me, but I'll be back in two weeks!

Top comments (0)