DEV Community

Burdette Lamar
Burdette Lamar

Posted on

Markdown Helper: Recursive?

Gem markdown_helper supports file inclusion, but not (yet) recursive file inclusion.

Should it?

Top comments (4)

Collapse
 
burdettelamar profile image
Burdette Lamar • Edited

Wow, Ben, you've really "woke" me! (Talk about not seeing the forest for the trees!)

My Markdown Helper doc should be describing use cases for the functionality I already have.

Working on it now.

Collapse
 
burdettelamar profile image
Burdette Lamar • Edited

[Update: just to be clear, by 'recursive' I do not mean a markdown file that includes itself, I mean an included file that includes other files.]

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

Can you further describe this use case?

Direct GitHub link to project for folks

Collapse
 
burdettelamar profile image
Burdette Lamar

Interesting question. I guess that's sort of what I'm asking about.

We know that in code we do include/require things recursively. But that's code, and markdown is documentation.

My own markdown files use file inclusion, but do not need recursion.

Do anyone's?