DEV Community

N Cee Dee
N Cee Dee

Posted on

How old are you in programming ?

This will make it the _______years/month/week you starting programming??

Top comments (163)

Collapse
 
eljayadobe profile image
Eljay-Adobe

Since 1976, so 46 years.

I've worked on a few noteworthy titles that people probably have heard of: Oregon Trail, Expression Blend, Visual Studio, Internet Explorer, Premiere Pro, and Photoshop.

I've had lots of brushes-with-fame with noteworthy developers who I've worked at the same company, and pestered in chat and email: Herb Sutter, Raymond Chen, Scott Meyers, Alexander Stepanov, Sean Parent, Gabriel Dos Reis, Arlo Belshee, Mads Torgersen, Anders Hejlsberg, Dave Abrahams.

I've been very fortunate. I have a career doing what I enjoy doing. And I've been able to do it all without moving out of my home state, Minnesota.

And I've been able to seriously program on a wide variety of platforms, in a wide variety of programming languages. (Where seriously means I was getting paid for it, and not just toy programs for fun in a programming language I was fooling around with.)

Collapse
 
gass profile image
Gass • Edited

Cool. I hope to have a career like yours. Great job with Photoshop and Visual Studio. VSC is such a cool code editor. Love it.

What are you up to these days?

Collapse
 
eljayadobe profile image
Eljay-Adobe • Edited

Visual Studio Code was made by a separate team, as a separate project. Unrelated to Visual Studio. I presume the marketing folks made the decision to prefix Code with "Visual Studio", but I'm not in marketing, so maybe they had good reasons.

As I understand it (and I may be mistaken), the Visual Studio Code team was under Erich Gamma (of "the gang of four" Design Patterns fame).

I have no insider information. I presume Visual Studio Code fits into a vision of the future where compiling and projects are all managed "in the cloud". With projects in Microsoft CodePlex GitHub, and those projects ALM and cloud compiling using Azure DevOps Server (fka Visual Studio Online, fka Visual Studio Team Services).

These days, I'm working at Adobe on Photoshop. May sound sappy, but I'm on a great team, with great management, and a very successful product. I'm most fortunate.

Thread Thread
 
gass profile image
Gass • Edited

Visual Studio Code was made by a separate team, as a separate project. Unrelated to Visual Studio.

I thought about it for a second! ..

If I may ask, what is your train of thought if you had to recruit a developer?

Thread Thread
 
nceedee profile image
N Cee Dee

💪💪

Collapse
 
nceedee profile image
N Cee Dee

Am working on a project for a company with my partners ☺️

Collapse
 
eljayadobe profile image
Eljay-Adobe

If I had to recruit a developer, I'd refer them to Photoshop Is Hiring.

Thread Thread
 
gass profile image
Gass

haha! well not the answer I expected, but okay...

Collapse
 
babib profile image
𝐁𝐚𝐛𝐢 ✨

Your programming age is double+ my entire existence on earth!

Collapse
 
nceedee profile image
N Cee Dee

Can't lie about that 😂... You right

Collapse
 
nceedee profile image
N Cee Dee

Wow...😮😮😮

Am speechless boss😮

Respect 🙌💪

Collapse
 
jonrandy profile image
Jon Randy 🎖️

39 years

Collapse
 
codenameone profile image
Shai Almog

1980 so 42 years. Ugh.

Collapse
 
miketalbot profile image
Mike Talbot ⭐

I'll end up in the middle of that! End of 1981 so 41 years....

Thread Thread
 
nceedee profile image
N Cee Dee

Wow.,...
That means I was yet to be born
When you even started coding...😪

Collapse
 
nceedee profile image
N Cee Dee

wow,
probably.. i was still yet to be born when you started coding...

respect sir

Thread Thread
 
codenameone profile image
Shai Almog

Not a great achievement... Not dying while being a geek ;-)

Thread Thread
 
nceedee profile image
N Cee Dee

Exactly 💪

Collapse
 
p2510 profile image
YATACHI

un monstre ce mec

Collapse
 
nceedee profile image
N Cee Dee

LoL 😂

Collapse
 
nceedee profile image
N Cee Dee

Wow... That means,you where still coding while I was still yet to be born😮🙌

Collapse
 
deltd3v profile image
deltd3v • Edited

6 yrs..

Started with python...did nothing but waste time on tutorials.

Second year I joined a 1yr long bootcamp to learn web development HTML, CSS & JS along with the mern stack. I graduated having done 1 project called "think tank united" some website that allowed strangers to participate in a meeting n talk about world problems n come up with a solution in one hour.

Third & fourth year I gave up on my self.. no self respect, low standards n just a complete hatred for the job search process. I settled to learn the finnish language using courses at home and practice driving courses.

5th year I caught myself trying out new web dev tools, design tools, productivity apps and no code. I challenged myself to learn different languages and really get into it...
Still haven't found a job...

But I got into some school named hive.

Here's my plan.

Learn a low level language C.

Learn how to work with databases.

Establish some online presence, blogs, ux / ui design posts, record myself doing online challenges

Improve my linkedIN n Try freelance.

My domain of focus is going to be web dev

Feel free to leave any advice. Im 24 n feeling like I'm lost

Collapse
 
emptyother profile image
emptyother

You think tutorials was a waste of time?

Collapse
 
deltd3v profile image
deltd3v

I most certainly focused on the wrong things.
I dont blame that only for why my life sucks.

Today, I've come to love building things and not relying on tutorials(they hold your hand and don't force you to research, plan, design, document or test anything your problem solving mind ideates). It's a completely different game compared to when I started. Today I have friends that I try to join on a zoom call n do small challenges together. 😅..man..if only I had done abit of brainstorming and learned better...I'd be very far by now 😭

Thread Thread
 
nceedee profile image
N Cee Dee

Their still chance😁

Collapse
 
nceedee profile image
N Cee Dee

Absolutely not

Collapse
 
nceedee profile image
N Cee Dee

Nah... Absolutely not

Collapse
 
nceedee profile image
N Cee Dee

You u all saying.. you wasted time on tutorials 😂🤷🏻‍♂️

Collapse
 
nceedee profile image
N Cee Dee

Wow... Nice one 😮😮🙌

Collapse
 
itscasey profile image
Casey 💎

Only 14 years, which is quite a bit but not a lot.

I started in ~ mid 2008 by wanting to create my own version of RuneScape, in this case a Private Server. Java...

Since then I've worked in:
Java, Kotlin, C#, JavaScript, Swift, Objective C, Python, Ruby, and PHP

Collapse
 
nceedee profile image
N Cee Dee

Wow...
That's a lot of years and experience 😮😮..
Respected 🙌🙌

Collapse
 
anyanka profile image
Anja

13 months.
If HTML and CSS count as well then 20 years.

Collapse
 
nceedee profile image
N Cee Dee

Wow...
It counts...
That's alot of year😮🙌

Collapse
 
anyanka profile image
Anja

I taught myself HTML & CSS when I was 12 years old to build better pages than the ones that were possible with beepworld - I think only milennials will remember this awful site. I know it sounds like a weird old lady comment but it's absolutely true: The internet was very different at this time and I loved it!

Thread Thread
 
nceedee profile image
N Cee Dee • Edited

Wow...
Was it on YouTube tutorials??
Or you read alot of textbooks

Thread Thread
 
anyanka profile image
Anja

I read a textbook for web designers and learned with w3schools and a site with a lot of knowledge about CSS but unfortunately I forgot the name of it. After some reading I mainly learned by doing and testing things and would do it again like that (and skip the book that's outdated in this minute you saved the draft of course). :)

Thread Thread
 
nceedee profile image
N Cee Dee

Wow....
I also learnt with w3school...

You awesome 💪🙌

Thread Thread
 
anyanka profile image
Anja

Thank you, and so are you!

Thread Thread
 
nceedee profile image
N Cee Dee

u wlc boss

Collapse
 
gmf002 profile image
George Fazio • Edited

About 1.5 years professionally with a large gap from COBOL, PASCAL, SPSS, and BASIC in high school. Switched from system administration to C# development at 47. It's been an "interesting" ride so far, but enjoying it.

Collapse
 
nceedee profile image
N Cee Dee

Wow...
That's great😮

Collapse
 
eriklz profile image
Erik Lundevall Zara

Hmm, started writing programs in February 1981.
Started writing program and run them on a computer a couple of months later.
Then I learned that there were different dialects of BASIC and Pet BASIC did not have all the features of ABC80 BASIC.

Collapse
 
nceedee profile image
N Cee Dee

Wow...
That's a lot of years😮

Collapse
 
gass profile image
Gass • Edited

HTML and CSS are not programming languages. And most programmers will agree with me. I begun building websites in 2006 and a couple of years after I started playing around with C++ and PHP (gaming and web dev). I then studied Java at the university for one year, which allowed me to play around with it for some time. I never enjoyed any of those languages as much as I have enjoyed JS. My journey hasn't been linear. I would say hands on programming I have about ~ 7 years.

Collapse
 
nceedee profile image
N Cee Dee

Wow....
Nice ...
Respect🙌💪

Collapse
 
gass profile image
Gass • Edited

Thank you Nnaji. People love to talk about themselves hahah. This post is the proof of that.

For all developers who consider themselves new in this world I say that if you really like it, don't feel intimidated by the experience of others. You can become a good programmer faster than you might think. The old days, were very difficult because we didn't have access to all the knowledge and tutorials that are now everywhere.

Good luck in your journy Nnaji ;)

Thread Thread
 
nceedee profile image
N Cee Dee

Thanks so much 🥰🙌.. you too🙌💪

Collapse
 
wemersonqueiroz profile image
Wemerson Queiroz

Professionally 1 month tomorrow 🎉
I started studying in March this year and got my first job May the 1st !

I don’t want to look cheesy, but I just said to my colleague that it’s the first time I’m happy with what I’m doing during my professional life !!

Collapse
 
nceedee profile image
N Cee Dee

Wow...
Grace...

So,how do you see programming??

Collapse
 
joehonton profile image
Joe Honton

If you're like me, the chief pleasure in programming isn't learning new languages or the latest technology. Real satisfaction comes when you're able to stay in the zone for an extended period (days or weeks at a time) and make steady progress with a creative solution to a novel problem.

So my advice to others pursuing this career is quite different from what those who are younger than me have to say: to avoid burnout, stay one step behind the bleeding edge; master one thing and use it to its fullest. Then move on.

I credit my enjoyment of JavaScript to my early years mastering Fortran, COBOL, Visual Basic, C++ and PHP. Each in turn made me stronger.

My first paid gig was the summer of 1977. To all those just starting out, you've got a fun ride ahead of you.

Collapse
 
nceedee profile image
N Cee Dee

💪💪🙌

Collapse
 
siddharthshyniben profile image
Siddharth

5 or 6, idk anymore lol
I started at around 9 years old

Collapse
 
nceedee profile image
N Cee Dee

Wow .....

Who Eva that urge u into it... Really loves u☺️🙌

Collapse
 
siddharthshyniben profile image
Siddharth

I've always been a curious one, and I had to learn when I saw my dad coding cool stuff :D

Thread Thread
 
nceedee profile image
N Cee Dee

wow...
that's nice...so that means, your dad was the source of ur motivation

Collapse
 
invalidlenni profile image
InvalidLenni • Edited

I started 2 years ago with HTML, CSS, Php, JS, Java and later with Lua, Python, C# and more

Collapse
 
nceedee profile image
N Cee Dee

Nice ☺️☺️...

So,... Have u started with projects??

Collapse
 
invalidlenni profile image
InvalidLenni • Edited

yes. And I learned by myself Python and Lua.

Thread Thread
 
nceedee profile image
N Cee Dee

wow... nice work

Thread Thread
 
invalidlenni profile image
InvalidLenni

Thanks

Thread Thread
 
nceedee profile image
N Cee Dee

u wlc

Collapse
 
vulcanwm profile image
Medea

2 years lmao

Collapse
 
nceedee profile image
N Cee Dee

Wow ...
I guess u would have accomplished some things for Abt those years☺️

Collapse
 
vulcanwm profile image
Medea

yea ive made a few cool websites ig.
how long have u been doing programming for?

Thread Thread
 
nceedee profile image
N Cee Dee

3 yrs .... Still yet to accomplish alot☺️😪

Thread Thread
 
vulcanwm profile image
Medea

i mean thats longer than mine so uve prolly done more than me

Collapse
 
vietmle_ profile image
Viet Le

3 years

Collapse
 
vietmle_ profile image
Viet Le

Still trying to learn everyday

Collapse
 
nceedee profile image
N Cee Dee

Yes ..

Definitely....

Good luck 💪🙌

Collapse
 
nceedee profile image
N Cee Dee

Wow...
Nice...

More years to come

Collapse
 
twrigh404g profile image
twrigh404G

4 years in the software game. Slow growth over time but the years have been so worth it. Now I'm accelerating my hobbies as the start of a career as a Full stack react dev 🤓.

Collapse
 
nceedee profile image
N Cee Dee

Wow...
Great achievement 🙌🙌