DEV Community

Cover image for Don’t Be a Hero. It's a Trap
Cesar Aguirre
Cesar Aguirre

Posted on • Updated on

Don’t Be a Hero. It's a Trap

If you want to stand out at work, don't be a hero.

It's a trap. I've been there and done that.

Yes, I know. It feels sooo good at the end of the day when you're the one saving the day. But if you're the only one who can do something or knows how to do it, that makes you irreplaceable.

And being irreplaceable means being stuck.

Don't be a hero. A hero can't get sick, go on vacation, or be promoted. Instead, take every opportunity to teach, document, or automate what only you know or do.

I remember a friend telling me about Paul, one of our coworkers. He collapsed from exhaustion on the office floor after overworking for days. He was, by all definitions, a hero. He only needed the red cape and boots. He was the one who rescued everyone when we had a coding issue. But he ended up burning out and eventually leaving.

In movies, heroes always die. Don't be a hero. It's better to be one more player on the team.

Be a team member.

Are you a hero or have you ever wanted to be one?


Hey, there! I'm Cesar, a software engineer and lifelong learner. Visit my Gumroad page to download my ebooks and check my courses.

Top comments (0)