DEV Community

Cover image for The Clean Coder, a Better Book Recommendation
Cesar Aguirre
Cesar Aguirre

Posted on

The Clean Coder, a Better Book Recommendation

I bet you have been told to read "Clean Code" by Uncle Bob.

Even I declare myself guilty of recommeding it too.

The Clean Code is a good starting point. Don't take me wrong. I read it and studied. And you should too.

But I prefer and recommend another one in the "Clean" series: The Clean Coder.

"The Clean Coder" isn't about programming. It's about the professional practice of programming. It covers everything from what professionalism is to testing strategies, pressure, and time management.

These are four valuable lessons from "The Clean Coder":

  1. Estimates aren't a single number of days, but a range.
  2. You don't have to say yes to everything. But you should find a creative way to make a yes possible.
  3. There is no "trying." Say no and offer a trade-off. An "I will try" is taken as yes and people expect outcomes.
  4. It could consider unprofessional not to use Test-Driven Development

But if I could summarize the whole book into a single quote, it would be this:

"Your career is your responsibility, not your employer's"


Hey, there! I'm Cesar, a software engineer and lifelong learner. Visit my Gumroad page to download my ebooks and check my courses.

Top comments (0)