DEV Community

Casey Echternacht
Casey Echternacht

Posted on

Nuts and bolts

I love quick keys. On mac, command + {tab, c, v, f} are some of my best friends.

I'm currently setting up a new IDE and watching tutorials for the absolute basics and I noticed something that really bothers me.

I can easily get into the preferences menu (command + ",": easy) and I can search for the thing that I want to change (search bar: just as easy). And then I see hieroglyphics that are supposed to show me the quick key combo for executing its associated command.

It would be cool if I could hover my mouse over those symbols and get a mouseover message with full words written out. I usually get discouraged when I can't figure out these key combos and tell myself I'll try again later.

Anyways, I finally found out that " ^ " signifies "control". That symbol appears above the 6 on my keyboard, so I found this to be obnoxious.

Anyways part 2; I just made a flash card to remind myself that "^" means "control". When I'm in charge, I'll force developers to only use "ctrl" if they need to abbreviate it :P

Top comments (0)