DEV Community

Cover image for Why I'm glad I chose Tech!
Charity Parks
Charity Parks

Posted on

Why I'm glad I chose Tech!

Hi Everyone! This is my first blog post here!

I've been asked repeatedly why I chose to learn Software Engineering. I wasn't seeking out this particular journey per se, but I was in a rut. One day I was scrolling through Twitter and I saw a post about this opportunity to learn computer programming at the Flatiron School. I could take the course online while still being able to work my 9-5 job. So I signed up immediately.

Through my journey with the Flatiron bootcamp, I began to see the world in a different way. There are so many parts of our lives that are enhanced through technology. For example, we no longer need a camera, video camera, library, tape recorder or even a television. We have cellphones that run on software programs that we use in place of those things! So many things are run by software. Vehicles, refrigerators, washer and dryers, traffic lights, thermostats and so much more are all run by software programs!

What I have come to realize is that there is a great deal of opportunity in the technology field. Job opportunities are everywhere! For a lot of people this means an increase in pay allowing them new freedoms. Combining the tech field with other fields can be fun. You could have a tech job for an Art museum if you also have a love for the Arts, for example. Tech is everywhere! Check out the Flatiron School and you can get started on an amazingly diverse new career!

Top comments (0)