DEV Community

Cover image for My AWSome journey to the Cloud: the Cloud Resume Challenge
Charles Allison
Charles Allison

Posted on

My AWSome journey to the Cloud: the Cloud Resume Challenge

Before the lock-down, I led a team of software developers in a project to be deployed in a private cloud. I had always handed over a project after I was done writing code because I have not been part of an IT team, so I really did not bother about deployment. That took a different turn in this project because not only was I responsible for code review, implementation strategy and software architecture, but for deployment and infrastructure (to some extent). I had successfully led the project to testing phase when the lockdowns came.

Well, I decided to solidify my knowledge of Kubernetes and to get on with one of the cloud providers; AWS it was and A Cloud Guru was my choice cloud trainer. As I learnt more about AWS cloud I became fascinated with how easy it was to put services together and get your app running in a short period of time given I had just worked on a private cloud project. I thought that was all the goodness the cloud could offer not until I met with serverless. With this new knowledge of serverless and AWS Lambdas, it was a fresh love for my career as a software developer.

I kept learning and decided to write AWS Cloud Practitioner exam in July. I was studying for my exams but just couldn't let go of the serverless concepts. I took the Serverless Concepts course on Linux Academy and several other serverless introductory courses on A Cloud Guru. I just couldn't get enough of serverless - I even nicknamed myself, Serverless Junkie - and with the goal of becoming a serverless Hero someday. I also connected with some AWS serverless Heroes.

I saw a post on LinkedIn that talked about one cloud resume challenge and its deadline was for July 31, 2020. After reading through the requirements, I decided for it. And, yes, I had to pass my earlier scheduled CLP exam - that was the first requirement.

It's a long read already so won't go into every aspect of the challenge but I won't forget my late nights with moto - the very beautiful Python mocking framework for AWS infrastructure and the one and only AWS SAM (Serverless Application Model) - sweet nights indeed. These tools are great because they make the work really easy...erm, after you understand how to use them. Yeah, I read lots and lots of blogs, documentation, github samples and in the end, I successfully completed the Cloud Resume Challenge.

I'm so thankful to Forrest Brazeal for putting up the challenge and causing many to learn and improve themselves. I am really grateful. Hopefully, I can work hard enough to becoming an AWS Serverless Hero. Until next time, it is bye from me and get on learning severless.

Here's the finished project for the challenge

Top comments (0)