DEV Community

Cover image for My Goals for HNGI8 for the next 8 weeks
Ifeanyi Fredrick Okwuobi
Ifeanyi Fredrick Okwuobi

Posted on

My Goals for HNGI8 for the next 8 weeks

How to become an HNGi8 Finalist

I remember when I got the mail from zuri asking me to join the long awaited HNG internship!!! wow what a day it was, finally I get to ask hard questions of myself as to how far I have grown in this journey into the "dangerous" world of tech, of course I quickly registered and began the necessary preparations for completing this noble endeavor which includes prayers, lifting javascript weights on websites like freeCodeCamp, reading motivational books like The Secret , The Alchemist , repeating mantras like "with great power comes great responsibility" you know basic preparations. However, the truth was that HNG internships is not walk in the park, according to their website "The HNG Internship is an ambitious attempt to change the way education is done in Africa. It’s the bridge between learning to code, and becoming the best in the world." further research revealed that "The Internship is designed to surface the very best of candidates out of a large pool of participants. It is fast paced and challenging, and helps people learn how to work in teams, deal with pressure and quickly expand their knowledge.". Now, don't get me wrong, I am not trying to scare anyone I just want to remind myself why I am in this and how I intend to get to the end of this "rocky,dangerous but fun" journey with my head held high and my chest pushed out while standing at the front of the finish line to receive my HNGi8 T-shirt. Consequently, I am taking the following steps to ensure the HNGi8 finalist T-shirt fits perfectly with v-neck sef. They are :

  1. Get better at Data Structures and Algorithms i.e really grind and solve at least one Algorithms question a day on any challenge platform like codewars, hackerrank and coderbyte.
  2. Practice Just in Time Learning(JITL). what!!! you may ask, well this article by Ayomide Oyekanmi tells a story to show you why.
  3. Be ready to learn anything, try anything and practice anything to complete any task.
  4. Focus on getting from stage to stage
  5. Make helpful friends, help others, socialize and complete the Internship.
  6. Get better at using figma to design, start with this tutorial How to figma
  7. Get better at using Git, start with this tutorial git
  8. Get better at Javascript, start with this tutorial Javascript
  9. Brush up on HTML using this tutorial HTML
  10. Make sure the finalist T-shirt fits perfectly lol.

That's it and I know it would be a fun filled ride to the top.

Top comments (0)