DEV Community

Cover image for How to use environment variables when testing with Jest in NodeJs
Tosin Moronfolu
Tosin Moronfolu

Posted on

How to use environment variables when testing with Jest in NodeJs

I was trying to use my environment variables in my test suites and it was a hustle. After a long time of trying and researching, I finally found a way to do it and I decided to write this article to help save you time, lol.

Funny how it's quite easy and I wonder why it took me so long to get it done. Well, we learn every day.

I'm using dotenv for the environment variables and jest for testing and all you need to do is add the dotenv config to the jest setup files in your package.json file. Yes, it's that easy

{
  "name": "your-application-name",
  "jest": {
    "setupFiles": ["dotenv/config"]
  }
}
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

I hope with this short article I've been able to help you save time in configuring dotenv with jest, lol.

Cheers 🎉

links:
https://jestjs.io/
https://www.npmjs.com/package/dotenv

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
beadle85 profile image
Beadle

Thank you so much for taking the time to share this!