DEV Community

Cover image for English Dictionary Application using Youglish API with Vue.js
Cihat Salik
Cihat Salik

Posted on

English Dictionary Application using Youglish API with Vue.js

I tried to make a project that will help you learn English with Vue.js. It gives you to understand the most common 1000 words in English randomly according to the range you entered and with the examples used on Youtube with Youglish API. I hope it will be useful content when studying English, memorizing words.

My purpose of doing this project was when I realized that I had a hard time memorizing English words. I did this project to get a little more familiar with the words. I think hard work can be overcome with simple solutions. My english is not perfect at the moment, but I am working on it. I hope it becomes a little easier for me to learn English with this project.
I did this project in English-Turkish. But you can do this project in your native language by forking.

I will share the source code url of the project. You can see how he does it from there. I used two APIs in the project. One of them is OWLBOT DICTIONARY API and the other is Youglish API.
These APIs helped me a lot in the project.

The project is as follows;

There is the most common 1000-word json in English, and the key values in this json correspond to English-Turkish words. In the project, there are two input ranges from 0 to 1000, the user selects the desired value in these ranges and comes across the user randomly in the desired range. It sends the APIs we use with this word, bringing the meaning of the word, an example sentence, the place where it is used in these APIs.

Project URL: https://cihat.github.io/dictionary/
Source Code: https://github.com/cihat/dictionary

Alt Text

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
ianr23 profile image
Ianr23 • Edited

For me, it was hard to learn German, especially to memorize long words. So, this app would be awesome to have for German too. I started learning German with Duolingo; after that, I bought some books and dictionaries amazon.com/German-Frequency-Dictio..., and now I have A2 level. What I liked the most to German Frequency Dictionary is that it has detailed parts of speech information. And it compiles the most used words in the German language, so at the conversational level. It's perfect for those who want to travel and know German culture better.

Collapse
 
amandass12 profile image
Amandass12

Do you have something similar for the German language?