DEV Community

Cover image for Mastering the AZ-104 Azure Certification: A Journey to Success
Denis
Denis

Posted on

Mastering the AZ-104 Azure Certification: A Journey to Success

Achieving the AZ-104 Azure Certification was a challenging yet rewarding journey that allowed me to enhance my expertise in Microsoft Azure's cloud services. Throughout the preparation process, I utilized various learning resources and hands-on practice to build a strong foundation of knowledge. In this blog post, I'll share my study approach, the resources I used, and how hands-on experience in my Azure Lab played a crucial role in my success.

Leveraging Microsoft Learn Documentation
Microsoft Learn is an invaluable platform for mastering Azure technologies, offering comprehensive and structured learning paths. I started my AZ-104 certification journey by following the official Microsoft Learn documentation. The content was well-organized, featuring interactive modules, hands-on labs, and quizzes that helped reinforce my understanding of different Azure services, security, networking, and more.

Harnessing the Power of YouTube Videos
To complement my learning, I turned to the vast array of educational content available on YouTube. One particular series that significantly helped me was John Savill's AZ-104 study cram videos. His clear explanations and real-world examples made complex topics easier to grasp. These videos proved to be an excellent resource for revision and filling in any knowledge gaps I encountered during my preparation.

Building Practical Experience in an Azure Lab
While theoretical knowledge is essential, nothing compares to hands-on experience. I set up my own Azure Lab using a test subscription, where I could deploy various resources and practice managing Azure services firsthand. This practical approach allowed me to gain confidence in working with different Azure components, understanding how they interacted, and troubleshooting common issues.

In my Azure Lab, I experimented with virtual machines, storage accounts, networking configurations, and more. I also practiced implementing security measures, monitoring solutions, and governance policies. This practical knowledge not only prepared me for the certification exam but also gave me the confidence to tackle real-world projects in Azure.

Emphasizing Practice Tests and Self-Assessment
As the certification exam date approached, I dedicated time to taking practice tests. These mock exams helped me gauge my progress, identify weak areas, and improve my time management skills. There are several online platforms that offer practice tests specifically tailored for AZ-104, and they closely simulate the actual exam environment.

Staying Persistent and Focused
The AZ-104 certification covers a wide range of Azure services, each with its intricacies. Throughout my preparation, I encountered challenges, but I remained persistent and stayed focused on my goal. Consistent daily or weekly study routines were instrumental in retaining the knowledge and steadily improving my skills.

Guides
To navigate through the realm of Azure certifications, I found great assistance in the following GitHub repository

Conclusion

The journey to AZ-104 certification was an enriching experience, and I am proud to have achieved this significant milestone. Utilizing Microsoft Learn, watching John Savill's study cram videos, and gaining hands-on experience in my Azure Lab proved to be a winning combination. The combination of theoretical understanding and practical application ensured that I was well-prepared for the certification exam and empowered me to confidently work with Azure services in real-world scenarios.

For anyone embarking on their AZ-104 journey, I would advise embracing a balanced approach of learning from official documentation, leveraging educational videos, and immersing yourself in hands-on practice. With dedication, persistence, and a passion for Azure, you too can conquer the AZ-104 certification and unlock exciting opportunities in the world of cloud computing.
Happy learning!

Top comments (0)