DEV Community

Cover image for TIME MANAGEMENT
Aaron Pinedo
Aaron Pinedo

Posted on

TIME MANAGEMENT

I am making this blog because this is a personal issue of mine that I have from time to time. Between family, working out, and programming how am I going to fix this first world problem of mine. Simple right? The answer is to ctrl + alt + del my family. No but really all jokes aside how did I fix my issue. Well some of you are not going to like the truth and some of you might have already done this.

There is three steps to this and here they are:

  • Categorization: You need to get everything you do on a daily bases and categorize all of them. This includes who you talk to on a daily bases and typically what the subjects about. The places you go (even though most of us are in quarantine and really should not be out and about anyway.) Or maybe you are just gaming way too much and need to switch from an MMORPG (massive multiplayer online role playing game) to a CCGO (collectible card game online).

  • Prioritization: You need to mark down what's the most important things in your life right now and put them on the top of your list. If video games are the most important to you right now then I don't really even understand why you are looking at this site that's made for developers? (Games are fun but, time and place dudes/dudettes)

  • Realization: You are now realizing what is clogging up so much time away from your priorities. After that you realize why that is and how to fix it.

For me personally it was family drama that I did not have the power or no how to fix it. One big issue is people in my family would love to come to me asking what they should do. I would give them my advice and then they would do the complete opposite. Then the following week they would come to me asking for the same advice and tell me they don't know what to do. This is the literal definition of insanity. If you have family or friends who are doing this to you my suggestion is to cut them off (At least for a bit). It really is a form of mental abuse and manipulation.

Right now I seek positive role modals and I try my best to hang out with them when ever possible. There are 6 people in my life that I look up to as of right now. They are a drama free zone and I like that. I am trying to take after them in habit, body language, and routine (in some form or another). The 6 of them are:

  • My sister: Felicia
  • My sister: Amy
  • My cousin: John
  • My uncle: Willard
  • My aunt: Rachael
  • My friend from Scotland: Alan

I made this blog because I think its really important to try and find out why you are being taken out of focus in your life. My hope is that someone will read this and maybe realize what is getting in there way. No matter if its a person, place, or thing.

(I did kind of use this blog to vent not going to lie but maybe it will help someone else out as well.)

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
julia_moskaliuk profile image
Julia Moskaliuk

Hi there! Thanks for your post, it's useful.

Also, you can read a new article with a list of courses on time management skills - blog.tmetric.com/15-courses-on-tim...