DEV Community

Cover image for Are You Motivated or Disciplined?
Sloan the DEV Moderator for CodeNewbie

Posted on • Updated on

Are You Motivated or Disciplined?

Some people say that motivation gets you started, but discipline keeps you going. Which comes more naturally to you? And how do you work on strengthening the aspect that you find more challenging?

Follow the CodeNewbie Org and #codenewbie for more discussions and online camaraderie!

Top comments (9)

Collapse
 
kurealnum profile image
Oscar

Motivation is temporary, but drive is permanent. Simply, drive is a long term version of motivation.

I think discipline is incredibly important, but it's also separate from motivation/drive. I can't think of a good way to differentiate the two, but think of it like this: You can have the discipline to sit down and study for 12 hours straight, but you're much better off studying because you have the drive to. However, I do think that discipline benefits drive, and vice versa.

As for me, I think I'm lacking in the discipline area, but I certainly have the drive.

Collapse
 
villelmo profile image
William Torrez

The people don't have discipline, they are impatient and think so that have right of usufruct.

Collapse
 
maxfindel profile image
Max F. Findel

โ€œMotivation is fickle. It comes and goes. It is unreliable and when you are counting on motivation to get your goals accomplishedโ€”you will likely fall short.โ€
โ€• Jocko Willink, Discipline Equals Freedom: Field Manual

I prefer discipline, even at times when motivation seems so alluring ๐Ÿ’ช

Collapse
 
shareef profile image
Mohammed Nadeem Shareef

My take is totally different. I do until it makes me bored. The moment it makes me bored I stop coding and play games for few hours then come back and do coding. In my job also I apply the same principles. It makes my mind peaceful.

Collapse
 
nombrekeff profile image
Keff

I'm a motivation kind of guy. I've always struggled with habits and discipline, outside of work that is. It's very hard for me to keep focus on something for long periods of time. But I always try to improve it on each new project.

Collapse
 
integerman profile image
Matt Eland

Discipline is natural to me. I'm a creature of habit and pattern, so I set the pattern and everything flows from that. Motivation and drive might be a little natural as well. I've always dreamed about the worlds we could build with technology, and that motivates me to learn and apply it. But what motivated me more than anything else were the times I couldn't do things - whether from depression as a teen or from paralysis a decade ago. This combination lets me do much and grow to be more than I am.

Collapse
 
arafatweb profile image
Arafat Hossain Ar

I see myself as someone who is naturally motivated, rather than relying on discipline.

Collapse
 
villelmo profile image
William Torrez

My mood: frustrated
Image description

Collapse
 
marcitpro profile image
Marcitpro

I'm definitely disciplined