DEV Community

Cover image for Your Daily Hacks for Staying Super Effective: What's Your Secret Sauce?
Sloan the DEV Moderator for CodeNewbie

Posted on

Your Daily Hacks for Staying Super Effective: What's Your Secret Sauce?

Share your tips on the daily routines and personal habits that help you stay on top of your game and crush your goals.

Follow the CodeNewbie Org and #codenewbie for more discussions and online camaraderie!

Top comments (4)

Collapse
 
jeebr23 profile image
Thane Broadband Internet Servi

Why do some people easily achieve their goals while others struggle to start? The secret is daily routines and habits. Trust me, I've been there too. But once I learned a few game-changing tips, staying on top became natural. Start your day strong with a morning routine. Wake up early, meditate or exercise, and have a nutritious breakfast. It sets you up for success and peak performance. Prioritization is also crucial. Each morning, plan your goals and focus on the most important tasks. Avoid wasting time on unproductive activities.

Collapse
 
wraith profile image
Jake Lundberg • Edited

I have a few things that really help on a daily basis:

  1. I always wake up early, shower and get dressed (not in pajama pants 😛). This routine helps me get into the right headspace to take on the day.

  2. I use the Getting Things Done system to stay organized and productive with all the things in my life. Getting all that junk out of my head and into an external system really helps me to be able to focus on the things that matter.

  3. I put myself in environments that promote motivation, productivity, and focus. This will mean something different to different people, but it can have a tremendous impact!

  4. The tools I use. I've played with lots of different tools, and have found a collection that really works for me. Not only are they useful, but I actually enjoy using them, which means I make efforts to use them more, which only increases their benefits.

Collapse
 
kurealnum profile image
Oscar

I wake up and make my bed, or I go for a walk. Just anything to get me into a productive mindset.

Collapse
 
jordantylerburchett profile image
Jordan Tyler Burchett

The structure of life in general requires self discipline. Many of us have to do the same thing and push ourselves daily to do what we know we should be doing. Routine and repetitive habits are the key to getting in the groove of things.

Something I'm guilty of is falling into a comfort zone where no work gets done. TV, video games, and time wasting apps such as TikTok are not your friend when it comes to how you should manage your time. I know it's hard to pull yourself out of the world of wasteful entertainment, at least it is for me. But if that's how you want to spend down time at least try to watch content that pertains to the subject you're studying 😉

Happy Venturing!