DEV Community

Cover image for 5 things I love about Tech Twitter
Jessica Wilkins
Jessica Wilkins

Posted on

5 things I love about Tech Twitter

When I was a musician I barely touched my Twitter account. Most of the musicians I knew were more active on other social media platforms.

But when I started my tech journey back in June of 2020, I decided to give Twitter another chance.

Twitter is not perfect, but overall it has been a positive experience so far in my developer journey.

Here are the 5 things I love about Tech Twitter.

1. Good Twitter Spaces

Photo by Windows on Unsplash
group of people

Anytime I can be involved within a good conversation, then that just makes my day.

It doesn't matter if it is a conversation on career development, open source, or Web 3.

Some of the spaces are smaller which allow for more intimate conversations between developers. While other spaces have 500+ people and I like to sit back and listen to the speakers have conversations.

I enjoy the fact that I can jump in and listen when I want or participate and ask questions.

2. Connecting with other developers

Photo by Annie Spratt on Unsplash
group of developers

I think one of the cool things about Twitter are all of the developers running around on the platform. There are some many people you can connect with either through DM or through posts.

Obviously there are always going to be those individuals that bring everyone down with their constant negativity. But I choose to only interact with the positive individuals on Twitter.

I have connected with hundreds of developers around the world through Twitter over the past year and a half.

Sometimes I will check out recent projects they made and comment or share them.

Sometimes I will DM developers I look up to and ask them questions on courses they teach or conference talks they have given.

Other times, I will just congratulate developers on a new job or career milestone in their lives.

I have always loved meeting new people and connecting with them, even if it is virtually.

3. Learning about Tech conferences

Photo by Headway on Unsplash
conference

All of the virtual conferences I have been to in the last year were because of Twitter.

I am still newer to this industry, but I love it when people share upcoming conferences that they are going to.

Here is a list of conferences that I learned about through Tech Twitter.

  • DevFest 2021
  • Jamstack conference
  • CodeLand 2021
  • OpenJS World 2021
  • MagnoliaJS conference
  • Gatsby conference

Conferences are a great way to meet new people and learn new things. It is also a plus when they are free and virtual.

4. Learning and building in public

Photo by Tim Mossholder on Unsplash
learning in public

When I first started learning how to code, people always told me to build in public and share with the community.

In the beginning, I didn't feel comfortable sharing my work because I was just starting out and I wasn't sure how people were going to react.

But I decided to give it a try, and it turned out to be a positive in my learning journey.

Other developers would share my posts, comment on what they liked, offer constructive feedback and provide resources to help me grow.

I also enjoy seeing what other people are working on when they share their work within the community.

Learning in public can be a great way to share your work and get noticed within the tech community. You also never know where it will lead.

5. Job postings

Photo by Tim Mossholder on Unsplash
help wanted sign

We all know that the job hunt for developers is not the greatest.

One of things I love about Tech Twitter are the amount of job postings on there.

A few times a day, people will post about openings in their company, or offer up freelance work. There are quite a few developers that will open up their DM's so you can message them resumes and portfolios.

Using Twitter for a job search can be more effective than applying through traditional online portals. I have met quite a few developers who got jobs through Twitter.

I also like to see the community retweet people's posts when they announce they are looking for a job. Sometimes those job retweets can lead to more opportunities.

I have even participated in some of those retweets.
retweet for job post

It is nice to see a community helping each other out.

Conclusion

Whether you love, hate or are indifferent to Twitter, there are some positives to the platform.

I enjoy the sharing of resources, conversations and connections with other developers.

Overall, my experience on Tech Twitter has been a positive one and has helped me grow and learn as a developer.

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
justinnoel profile image
Justin Noel

It's great to see someone else recognizing the good sides of Twitter.

Yes, there are problems. Yes, some people are horrible here.

However, I've had the good fortune to make friends, get jobs, and stay informed here.